Keeping cool


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have a few moments on my hands this morning, just before I have to go up to the pharmacy to pick up some ARVs (don't worry, they're not for me, they're for another patient, doxy is still the only medication I'm on) & thought I should update even if its still less than a week since the last one. The weather is hotting up here now, making everyone rather irritable- or so it seemed last night after the rather large row I nearly got into at dinner, but just managed to avoid by keeping my temper (those of you who really know me are aware of how difficult that can be!). Still, I am quite proud of myself for not rising to a bait when someone quite a lot senior to me is shouting at me like I'm a six year old, and embarressing the other 10 or so people sitting in silence trying to eat their dinner. Although I will say that the other person did apologise later after I told them to shut up (but in a more polite manner).
Still, with that little rant off my chest, I have a bit of a headache right now after a couple of unwinding glasses of wine (Monday night drinks are never a good idea, are they? It just makes the rest of the week seem worse!) & a gardener is burning leaves right outside my window which makes me feel like an extra on the set of Apocalypse Now. Napalming a few villages...
Still, the rate of people coming and going continues; one med student has left, three nursing students have arrived, along with an English engineer just for a week & another Irish doctor for six months. I think I have found another contender in her for drunken arguments about religion/ politics/ the perfect cup of tea/ or anything else that is bothering us. I've quite missed those since the Irish med students left a month ago. Generally, it seems like there is mostly good company here (save the odd one or two who irritate me!) although I still really hate having to say goodbye to people I have become good friends with in a short space of time! The plus side is that I am already thinking about potential holidays in Canada & Switzerland next year; if I have time apart from the long drive I want to make from the South of Spain to the Red Sea in Egypt. In fact, I could just spend the rest of my time travelling & not ever come back to a 'normal' life in London. Oh, to have the money to do that...
Still, enough travel rambles (although where else should you write that outside of a travel blog?). Work continues busily, I am still in the ED's office & acting as secretary, which means I have to work 5 1/2 days a week, Sunday afternoons as well, to prepare the surgery lists for monday mornings. Bit of a bore but I suppose I don't have far to go from the office to my house! Nothing much ever happens on a Sunday, anyway. Half of the group are going off to the game park this weekend, I was quite tempted to go with them, but the disquieting reminder that I will at some point soon need to put down a deposit on a London flat put me off. Plus, after the shenanigans of last time, perhaps it's better avoided. I really don't want to get trampled by elephants or fall down a cliff again! So it will be a quiet weekend with possibly my first attempt at cooking nshima for myself & watching the films I'm borrowing off some of the people going away on my laptop. All power permitting, of course. Otherwise, I will just have to revert to my old fashioned book...
Take care x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb