Planning for the next three months


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
July 11th 2008
Published: July 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Again, there have been a shameless lack of updates by me lately...work is still very busy & I have also just got back from a four day weekend at the game park about 4 hours drive from here. But the good news is that I am staying on until October (in fact, I would be home today if I'd gone when I first planned). My visa is being processed, I have a repeat prescription of profilaxis, now I just need to get some more money together!
The group of volunteers certainly fluctuates: at the moment we have 5 Irish & 1 English med student, 2 Canadian midwifery students, 2 Irish doctors, 1 english doctor & 1 swiss doctor. So mealtimes are certainly busy! However, all the students & one of the doctors will go by the end of this month.
The Irish students certainly serve to liven the place up- I went away with them over the bank holiday weekend & we ended up drinking over 20 bottles of cheap Zambian wine between 8 people on the last night- which ended with us drinking wine whilst watching two elephants eat a tree outside our toilet block! Still, it makes for an interesting memory...
I don't think I have any more plans to travel whilst I'm here now. I've seen most of the things I want to see. Now I just need to knuckle down and get back to my work!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb