Visa issues


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Eastern Province » Katete
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The last couple of weeks have been incredibly busy for me work-wise; so I apologise for my lack of updates! That said, no one at home seems to be responding to my emails any more, so I'm not even sure if anyone is still reading this! (You know who you are, please get in touch & let me know all the news from home!)
I have now more or less taken over the daily running of the volunteer accomodation & management of the mess kitchen staff. It's certainly kept me on my toes with the number of people coming & going over the last couple of weeks. 5 new Irish students have arrived, which more than makes up for the quiet period after the English students left at the end of May. Dinner is more lively, and the evenings when the power is off does not seem so dull.
Also, my plans to stay on seem to be coming to fruition- I am applying to stay on until early October, provided my request is accepted by the immigration office. Otherwise, I have to fly home 3 weeks tomorrow. I don't think I am quite ready for that though. I am really getting in to the improvements I am starting to make here.
I have a new desk in my office, which is much quieter as the accounts office has moved and I am remaining in the old place with the IT technician. I like it though: there is more time to get things done with fewer people coming and going. I seem to have become the secretary for the IT technician though- every time I sit down to do some work, somebody comes in to ask for him, or telephones! It can get annoying, and makes me wonder if I should work from home sometimes!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb