Jet-lag and driving


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Copperbelt » Ndola
June 8th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Kalundu ChapelKalundu ChapelKalundu Chapel

This is the cross in the chapel at Kalundu Study Centre
Since yesterday, I have gone with Sandy to meet up with some people that may be helping us out over the next few weeks with the group I'm helping facilitate. It was nice to finally meet the legendary Sr. Josephine, who I have heard about since I was there last year. I have to say, I now know why she is so loved. She's a great woman who has done many wonderful things to help out the people of Zambia as well as her fellow sisters. I hope to see her again while I'm here.

After dinner Sandy and I had a meeting with Fr. Bonaventure to get some loose ends tied. You definitely know you're not in Kansas anymore when you have to worry about so many details that you would take advantage of at home. For example, you have a youth group at home out during the day, you feed them easily with restaurants aplenty. Here, however, you have to make sure someone can prepare it and have it ready in time. I just have to get my frame of mind back to Zambian, which hopefully is soon.

Today, we drove to Ndola, to the Franciscan Centre.
San DamianoSan DamianoSan Damiano

Close-up of what I believe to be a San Damiano cross.
It's going to be one the two main places the group will be staying. So again, it's tying up loose ends. I thought I was going to be lost in terms of remembering old faces, but it seems I remember a lot more than I thought - thank goodness!

That's really all for now. I just wanted to put one out there since I evidently didn't update enough last year. I'll put pictures up soon, I promise.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

More of the ChapelMore of the Chapel
More of the Chapel

Most of the walls have a design similar to this. Each shape contains a picture and a word it represents (ie: an elephant with "wisdom")
Kalundu BananasKalundu Bananas
Kalundu Bananas

Sr.Josephine showing Sandy the banana plants
My NemesisMy Nemesis
My Nemesis

This is proof that spiders are here and they're a little too big for my tastes. I never took a picture last year, so I knew I needed proof this year.


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0292s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb