I Don't Want to Alarm You But...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
November 18th 2011
Published: December 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Day 12 - Day 11 of tour

Woke up early since we had an early start that day and it was still dark. Ezio and I used the buddy system to walk to the toilet in case of hippos after receiving the warning from the day before.

The toilet was on the opposite end of the campsite, and we could her some loud munching and snorting sounds as we approached the toilet. We shone our headlamp to look around and we saw a hippo about 50 feet away. It stopped eating, looked at us, and we quickly redirected the headlamp.

I absolutely refused to walk any closer to the hippo and no longer had any desire to use the toilet...bushes in the dark are good enough! Luckily, I had my "whiz freedom" with me. Midway through, Ezio said to me "I don't want to alarm you but I think you should hurry". Well, the words "I don't want to alarm you" is never good and always has the opposite effect. A surefire way to alarm someone is to say "I don't want to alarm you". I started verbally freaking out and asking why he said that but I still wasn't finished. Once we walked away he told me that he could hear a hippo just on the other side of the bushes!

We drove to Jinja and camped at Adrift Campsite and relaxed for the rest of the day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb