Ugandan Kids Rock my Socks!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
June 13th 2008
Published: June 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Instead of teaching at the After School program today, we went to a house where two students (Deo and Zaitun) live together. Both of their parents died several years ago so it was easier for the two of them to live together. All the volunteers and students went to help them build a structure for a dairy cow that was donated for them. Their house is absolutely tiny - probably about 1/5 the size of my bedroom. Yet these kids really make the best of what they have. It was so heart-warming to see how all the kids pitched in to help them and were smiling and having fun the entire time.

Afterwards, we stopped in the center of Kyetume to get some chipati (delicious, fried, heart attack producing bread type tortilla things). Several of one girl came up to me and asked me to buy her "sweets" so I went to get one and then while waiting, 5 otherthe kids were still with us but eventually left and one of the girls was buying some for Deo and Zaitun. While we were standing waiting, kids from the area swarmed around us and were asking for money and food. This happens every time we go, but for some reason, it really got to me tonight. I just can't imagine the hunger that these kids feel every day and we go several times per week to get more food that we don't need. This kids came up, so I got 10. By the time I handed them out, several other kids came up and were all saying, "sweets, sweets!" I felt so bad because if you buy it for one, you have to buy it for all but there's no way to do that because there are so many.
So it was kind of sad and upsetting just to really see the poverty and hunger these kids live with every day. They don't really show it at school so sometimes you don't see how rough their lives truly are.
As always, keep them in your prayers!

Advertisement



13th June 2008

It is sad that thier situations are so desperate.... what does the organization recommend? They must have some sort of rule/strategy. Because you are right... you can't buy sweets for everyone! Hmmm..... Maybe you could buy a treat for one per day until you leave? I don't know..... that seems tough.
13th June 2008

Touched by your stories
Monica, I'm thrilled you were able to get this blog site started. I'm so touched by your stories. They help give me a better idea of how the Ugandan people live, their warm and welcoming spirit despite the challenges they face. You are doing really great work there, and you ARE very special...your kind and caring heart touches those around you. I look forward to reading more stories and seeing more pictures!!! Love, Mom
14th June 2008

experience
Monica Sounds like you are having an incredible experience even though some may be sad and difficult. God is teaching you a lot!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb