Back on Track


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
July 1st 2019
Published: July 1st 2019
Edit Blog Post

Unfortunately, last week I was not feeling well. Both my Ugandan and Canadian friends were amazing at nursing me back to health from the lab, pharmacy, and nursing aspects.

On Saturday, we went to King Fisher, which is a lodge nearby. We spent the day swimming and enjoying the sunshine. This pool overlooks Queen Elizabeth Park, which is a beautiful view. On Sunday, I spent most of the afternoon working in the clinic to make up for lost time. The clinic was very busy with many laboring women. I assisted in the delivery of a baby boy and spent the day assisting the midwives with various other tasks. It was great, I love working in the clinic.



Today, I spent the morning doing rounds with the doctor then assisted in the theatre during a c-section. What a great way to spend Canada Day! This afternoon our group worked together on our presentation of UTI prevention and treatment for tomorrow. We have arranged to present to a group of community members this week. On Wednesday afternoon, we are planning to visit a nearby school and to educate the students about UTIs.



Unfortunately, this is our last week in Rugazi, as we are leaving for Kampala and Gulu on Sunday. I plan to spend as much time in the clinic as I can this week and I am eager to interact further with the community.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb