Week 5


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region
June 26th 2017
Published: June 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Week 5 was bittersweet as we said goodbye to our communities and ventured back to Mbarara. With that said, we are excited to be reunited with the rest of the Canadians with whom we have been separated from for the past month. The other girls enjoyed their experience in the rural mountain community of Ruhija.

Rene,

Well I must say out of the bad comes the good. With last week being harder than most, this last week has been the total opposite.

My Sunday began with finding a hidden little gem called the “coffee and pizza press”, pronounced as PEE-ZZZAAA. It wasn’t until we seen the writing “pizza” that I realized everyone who spoke of this place was talking about pizza the whole time. That or I was mainly focused on the coffee aspect of the place. But man oh man, was my mocha amazing! Mmmmhhhmmmm, I was beginning to lose hope in finding coffee but this was exactly what I was looking for. COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE….I finally had it, and it was ever so great. Mocha with ½ teaspoon sugar surely hit the spot for me this past Sunday. It was something I was missing so so much. I may or may not have bought some local beaned coffee as a gift for my family.

After the coffee and peezzaa (pizza) outing, we went out as a whole group with the Ugandan students to find the transparent lake. It was surely an amazing outing. It felt so nice to enjoy the nature and beauty in this country, and within their home. The lake took us through an area of rain forest until we reached the lake, 2km later. It was sooo wonderful. This was also the day we seen our first wild animal…a monkey of some sort. Rather it wasn’t the closest view, but darn it was a view. Lol!

Monday, I took up an offer from one of my new found Ugandan mid-wife friends, she wanted to take us out exploring to see more crater lakes. So off we went to find another set of twin lakes, and then one other crater lake. Bringing my total to seeing 10 of the 53 crater lakes. We drove down two different areas from the health centre and enjoyed the morning views and fresh air breeze off the crater water. Being at Magogo crater gave me and Philomena a Saskatchewan lake side kind of feel. The fresh breeze and tree side views brought us back home to a view I have come to miss as of lately. After our early morning adventures, we came home to find ourselves catching up on our laundry. Of which the novelty of washing by hand has definitely worn off. And at this point I even question weather I am even washing my clothes at all or just saturating them in soapy water and wringing them out. But hey they smell fresh and have no stains so that’s what matters.

Wednesday started out as an ordinary day in the health centre, walking over to the maternity ward to hopefully find a labouring mom to assist with, and then continuing to other departments to help out but only after I don’t find a labouring mom. But today, it would be different, I was quickly shifted to the theater (aka surgical room) to observe a C-section delivery. After the first mom, came the second mom and the third mom. I watched the nurse receive the first-born baby from the surgeon. Then that same nurse was called to the maternity unit to assist a mom who was in distress. The anesthesiologist asked me to be the receiving nurse for the next mom. Shocked, I responded with “if your there if I need you, then yes I will”. This same man, was the kind man who made a fighting effort to save our baby ohmoshikii last week. So I felt safe knowing he was there if I needed him. I received the first baby ohmosho (boy) successfully, giving all immediate care and assessments independently. The doctors in the room were very encouraging and proud, they then asked me to assist with the next mom. Of which, I again, successfully received a second ohmosho independently (it’s a day for boys)!! By this time it was far past lunch, but I just couldn’t leave this opportunity I had to assist and be supported by amazing doctors. So I left for lunch and to shower. Then came Philomena, “Rene they need another nurse again”. Freshly showered I debated going, but I couldn’t pass it up! So down I went and another mom was being sent for c- section. But I couldn’t assist, my Rugazi family was heading for our farewell dinner and I just couldn’t miss it. Needlessly they found another nurse, but I did help do an IV line and urine catheter. This was my best day yet. I felt like I was able to be a nurse who could put her skills to use and feel as though I was making a physical difference.

Most days here are still met with language barriers and challenges, and often we find ourselves doing blood pressure trains on about 20 pregnant mothers. Its not very educational or “difference making” as it seems. But little do we know that our smiles, greetings, and warm shoulder touches are making on these woman’s lives. (That’s what I mean by physical difference).

After my great day in the clinic, we went to the pizza and coffee press for dinner with our Rugazi family. The dinner was great, we shared heartwarming speeches, jokes, and good laughs. As me and Tye rode home that evening on our Boda Boda (motorbike) the driver shared with us that women in the surrounding community have shared with him their appreciation for the Canadians at the health centre. It was solidifying and so very nice to hear, that what little we thought we are doing is making differences within the communities. End of the story for this June 21st, 2017 and National Aboriginal Day was that it was my best day thus far.

Thursday was a whole different kind of awesome, we took an early trip adventure. The four Canadians set out for a Safari at 630 am. Within 3 short hours we seen 4 of the 5 big five African animals … elephant, lion, leopard, and water buffalo (the fifth animal we did not see was the Rhino, they are near extinct so can only be seen in sanctuaries). Driving along in our open top van was a purely amazing morning. After lunch we set out on a boat cruise safari where we enjoyed the sun, baboons, pumba’s (warthogs), and many other open savannah animals and views. Afterwards we continued to enjoy our African massage as we drove along the pot hole road until we reach our destination of the health centre. (Seriously I will never complain about Saskatoon, Regina, or Cowessess pot holes ever again…LOL).

Friday evening was the opening of volleyball season in Rugazi. Myself and Tye ran down to join a group of men playing in a grass field mildly covered in cow dung. We each jumped on a team and enjoyed intense sportsmanship among the Ugandans until the sun set.

Relaxing along kingfisher one last time surely brought our time in Rugazi to an end. From our first day being dropped off at road side and feeling out right terrified to now, where we can boda boda all over and greet everyone we see, this time in Rugazi has surely been a growing experience. Learning that poverty is all about context, someone can have nothing but be rich in love or the exact opposite. Until next time Rugazi, we are now on our adventure to Mbarara!

Phil,

On Sunday, we shared Rene’s joy when our residence manager took us to Omwani Café (http://volcanoessafaris.com/all-activities/training-cafe/) for some local coffee. The café is a project of Volcano Safari Partnership Trust and has a number of initiatives including coffee produced by a women’s cooperative and vocational training for youth. The graduates of the program receive a certificate after gaining work experience and skills applicable to the hospitality industry.

We got to see more crater lakes this week. On Sunday we set off with the Ugandan students to see the Transparent Lake, after trekking through a forest we arrived at a beautiful lake. After washing our hands in the water (advised for good luck) we took a series of photos and relaxed.

In the beginning of the week, we visited a women’s group in Nyakega (community Tye and Philomena are working in). A village health team member in the community started the group in 2010, and is the main chairperson. She teaches a course about literacy and healthy behaviours from a workbook provided by the Government of Uganda. Each woman contributes money every week and members may apply for loans if they have 2 guarantors. There is also a culture chairwoman, a craft chairwoman, a secretary, and accountant. We were blessed with a performance from the women. It was a proud and happy moment to witness the work that they had accomplished so far and their openness to sharing themselves with us. There were some communication challenges but in general, hand gestures, smiling, patience, and a son who stopped by and translated got us through it.

The student group Tye and I are in hosted an education session. Due to the influence of both the local chairperson and Village Health Team member, there were 50 adults in attendance. Phionah who is fluent in the local language (Runyankole), taught about the 5 F’s (flies, feces, fingers, fluids, food), facilitated discussion about sanitation and illness. Tye and I elicited laughs with silent skits about hand hygiene and food preparation. Towards the end of the session, I was humbled and intrigued as community members spoke of their concerns with their health and health care services they received.

We visited the café a second time to have dinner as a group. All who ordered the pizza loved it, and were also impressed with the work Volcano Partnership Trust is doing. After stuffing ourselves we all returned to our residences for a long night of Matatu and music.

My time at the clinic this week was spent in the out patient department, the Anti Retroviral clinic, and with immunisations. While Rene, Vivian, and Tye go to Mbarara, I will remain in Rugazi for a couple of weeks. I will continue to learn from the health staff and to grow in my understanding of primary health care in the rural setting.

Tye,

Congratulations and thanks for sticking with it if you've read up to this point. What a hefty week this has been! Our time in Rugazi has drawn to a close. I am left to reflect on the friendships I made, struggles I overcame and the experiences that have shaped my time in the community. I was talking on the phone with my dad tonight and he said, “I’m going to miss Rugazi. I enjoy seeing and hearing about your daily adventures.” I feel the same way.

Sunday, June 18 marks my favourite day in Uganda as of yet. Rene has been jonesing for coffee and was finally able to get her hands on some today. Our (slightly creeping and obnoxious) facility manager spoke highly of a place called Volcanoes Safari Partnership Trust (VSPT) and said that they had coffee so off we went! We arrived at a very quaint and quiet outdoor area where we met Stella, the VSPT manager. We were presented with a VERY appetizing menu and were then told that all items are ½ price considering that we are volunteers in the country. We watched, mesmerized, as the staff prepared our coffee and appetizers. I ordered guacamole with tortilla chips and let me tell you, Mexican guac and chips have nothing on the Ugandan version. So smooth. So rich. So creamy. Mmmmm☺ We returned twice since then making 3 visits in total this week. I ordered milk hot chocolate, guacamole and tortilla chips, an 8-piece pizza, and a chapatti with beans for breakfast the following morning for a total of $7.99 Canadian. If you know me, you know that I love a good bargain. This is a great bargain!

Sunday afternoon called for a trek to the Transparent Lake. We loaded onto boda bodas (motorcycles used for quick transportation) and set out for the hike. We hiked through matooke trees, dense tropical forest, and coniferous forest, which resembled northern Saskatchewan before arriving at the lake. Local legend says that the lake is lucky and that all who visit must touch the lake. I greatly enjoyed both the hike and lake.

The clinic was busy this week. I spent my time in the pharmacy dispensing antiretroviral medication for HIV patients, assessing and handing out eye glasses in the outpatient clinic, working in the antenatal department and I ran an immunization clinic along with Rene, Phil and Simon (a Ugandan medical student).

In packing for departure I purged my suitcase of all contents that I haven’t yet used. This included 3 cans of bug spray, a handful of batteries, scarves, books, toiletries, and some clothing. I distributed the items to the Ugandan students and a few local women who I have gotten to know. All were extremely thankful for the small gifts giving me numerous hugs and saying, “I will never forget you, my friend.” It is very rewarding to know that I made an impact on these peoples lives as they have enriched mine as well.

As Phil mentioned Monday afternoon consisted of a visit to the Nyakega Women’s Group. The women performed their cultural dance for us using a drum and jerry can as instruments. It was a beautiful sight. They then asked for us to dance so I broke it down for them with the good ol’ Canadian prairie country two-step and I dropped my booty down low a few times which had the ladies cheering.

The education seminar that our community group held on Tuesday was highly successful. It was rewarding to see our hard work come to fruition in teaching the locals about sanitation and hygiene. The members were engaged in discussion asking a number of questions in regards to how they can improve the overall health of their children, families, and community.

I visited Trinity Preparatory School once more on Friday to say my goodbyes. I brought the students yellows (the local word for bananas) and spent time observing them in the classroom as they learned. The staff expressed their thanks to the Canadians for their “enthusiasm, generosity, friendly smiles and efforts in public transformation.” I was sad to leave but happy to have taught the students and learned from them in return.

Although I am sad to be leaving Rugazi I look forward to returning to Mbarara and reuniting with the other 5 Canadians who have been in Ruhija for the past month.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb