Second week at Rugazi Health Centre


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Western Region » Queen Elizabeth NP
June 15th 2014
Published: June 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Day 18- Saturday June 7th-Breakfast we had homemade somosas (yummy!!). Early in the morning we had a fairly bad rain/hail storm and then for the rest of the day it was sunny out. Lounged around the health centre and played volleyball with a homemade ball (made out of plastic bags and yarn) and made new friends. Had a group meeting in the evening about our community project. It was a fairly quiet day.

Day 19- had chapattis for breakfast and chicken for lunch!!!! Another quiet day and a late group meeting.

Day 20- Mike and I changed up our "ward rounds" and went to General ward for the week. Mariam a Ugandan student nurse also joined us. This day was quite jumbled since the clinical officers were following Mike, so I kind of bounced between pediatrics and Gen. Close to the end of the shift I was pulled off the unit and observe my first delivery, which was amazing and Mariam also taught me how assess dialation. After that experience I also went back to ped's and did some wound dibridement on a childs arm. The most amazing part of that experience besides the delivery was see the effects of pure honey on the healing process of a wound. We have been treating a burn wound with untreated honey and well the wound is healing great!!!! Later that evening I caughted up with my family, who informed me that my grandfather was not doing well. Within 40 minutes he passed away, this was a very hard moment to deal with in fact it still brings tears to my eyes but one thing that keeps me together is that fact that I know he is in a better place. Rest in peace grandpa

Day 21-Called mom and dad first thing in the morning and then decided to keep myself busy with work to occupy my mind from the bad news. It worked and it did not, I found my whole day was thrown off. In the afternoon my group and I went to Nahkatunga Village to do another community assessment and found another challenge to focus on. Such challenge was brought on by the hail storm earlier in the week which ended up knocking down some of the families pit latrenes.

Day 22- Since feeling frustrated yesterday, I decided to take the day off from the clinic and instead I did laundry by hand. Mariam, Immy, Heather, Gena, Lindsay and I went to the local market for some groceries and later in that evening Heather, Lindsay, Gena and I booked for a tour of Rwanda genocide memorial for June 20th-22nd!!!!

Day 23- breakfast we had casava chips (deep fried casava wedges). Mike and I worked on the general ward and since it was just us two the round went more smoothly. In the afternoon our head supervisore came out and reviewed our group projects and provided us examples to make our projects better. After that Heather and I went to the neighbouring village and went to the bank to make another payment on our safari trip-we also added on Jinja- white water rafting and a boat cruise!!!! In the evening Mike, Linda, Gena, Lindsay, Heather and I went for a walk on kasese road and made a pit stop at the green lake by Nahkatunga.

Day 24- worked on General ward with Mike again. Had another group meeting and change our challenge to concerns towards pit latrene. Had a wonderful story telling session with Mike in the evening hahahaha, he loves telling stories!!!!

Day 25- had breakfast (casava chips) and then went to Kingfisher lodge for the night. We arrived at 1:00 pm and settled into our room, which is like a little cemented hut with tow level, two single beds, a double bed, shower and toilet on the lower level and a deck over looking the Queen Elizabeth National Park. we unpacked and went to the pool and lounged at the poolside for the rest of the afternoon. Heather and I were the only ones who went swimming in the pool. I drank passion fruit and malibu all afternoon and had a "rolex" (chapatti and omellette) for a snack. Then for supper I had fish and chips (talapia) and beers in the evening!!!

Day 26- 06:15 am had breakfast buffet and 06:44 am met Adolph our tour guide for Queen Elizabeth National Park and went on our tour. We saw elephants, wild .boars, cob, african fishing eagles, water buffalo, and a lioness from a far. Once our tour was over we went back to the lodge and had one last hot shower and went back to our hostel by 1:00 pm. We got back in time to have a second breakfast!!!! and relaxed for the rest of the day

Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb