Jinja


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Jinja
January 11th 2009
Published: January 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So arrived in Jinja yesterday, met Benji who looks after us here and said goodbye to the Magnay's. Got on a boda-boda, which is a small motorbike where you can pay to get across town for about 30p - I have never been so scared in my life, I seriously thought I might die and the guy was squeezing through the smallest gaps and driving down the wrong side of the road. Then got a bus/taxi minibus thing, the only form of public transport in Uganda for the 2 hour drive to Jinja - again pretty scary and thought many times that I was going to die. I think there's probably about a 90% chance I'll die in a road accident here.

Staying in a basic house (the flushing toilet was put in last week!) with Benji - the Ugandan looking after us and 2 Australian girls, Courtney and Siov! Felt pretty bad when I got here and everything was pretty overwhelming! But we went out in the evening and everyone was really great, met lots of Benji's Ugandan friends (he's very popular but I think that has something to do with the fact they all know his job is to look after English/Aus volunteers) and there's quiet a few expats here along with some American military. After the bar we went on to a club in the center of Jinja, I have never seen anything like it!! For a start we were almost the only white people there and they search you as you go in for guns! But at the same time I've never felt safer and the dancing here is fantastic!!! The guys weren't that bad, and the girls are great we never split up and always had someone we knew around to stop any hassle! So we danced all night and took a boda back - definitely much better once you've had a few beers!!

So slept in today and cooked pancakes for breakfast, the kitchens pretty basic so that was an achievement. Then Benji cut his foot open on some rusty metal in the back-garden so that meant we had to go down to the surgery and get him a tetanus shot - you've never heard so much fuss but secretly he loves having 3 girls to fuss over him. And now I'm here....

It's very hot here at the moment and I'm starting work in the orphanage tomorrow morning - so hopefully that'll go well!

Advertisement



11th January 2009

Sounds AWWWEEESOOMMEE :):) the dancing must be seriously good I can imagine and I bet the music is pretty cool too :) Missing you lots but can feel the crazy vibes from here xx
11th January 2009

By the by
I LOVE the overall title to your blog 'Katie's funny little stories' hehe good to hear you're having a good time =] good luck with the orphans! (if you get any chance to, please, for me, go to someone with an empty bowl and ask for some more =P
12th January 2009

scary stuff !!
Gosh Katie, rather you than me, have fun and be safe - Jan X
14th January 2009

OMG you cant seriously be telling me this girl STOLE my name!!! :O:O:O:O no fair!!! thats my name! haha

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb