Visiting Norah and Port Bell


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 9th 2009
Published: January 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yeserday we went to see the Kerssemakers old housekeeper Norah, who lives near Entebbe, in an African village off he main road. We spent an hour driving around trying to find her, though the village which was an experience in itself - your driving along one of the main roads to the airport and you could be anywhere in the world, then you turn off onto a dirt track and suddenly your in an African village. We went to see the village Chief to see if her knew where she lived, and every time we stopped to ask someone directions all the kids would stare at me, and dare each other to touch my legs which they thought were amusingly white (which they are). Everyone was so helpful and happy, all the kids waved and shouted 'JAMBO!'. Norah was very sweet and suprised to see me (it's not like you can ring ahead and warn them your coming!) and she realised who I was instantly, which was a little bit scary!! She took out all her photos and although she didn't speak English, the driver translated and she was so grateful for all the help, it was a bit overwhelming!

We then went to Port Bell, where my Mum lived whilst she was in Uganda. The brewery where my grandfather worked is huge now! We then drove up and saw their old house, and also drove past Dawn and Paul's old house. It was nice too see where they had lived!

Last night we went to a friend of the Magnay's daughters 18th birthay - it was interesting, different to at home. The other ex-pat kids where nice but different to people at home and I felt completely out of place!! They were talking about who kissed who and who had the best phone, which I didn't expect. Still it was nice to meet some of the Magnay's friends and a lot were doing all sort of interesting things here in Uganda.

So all packed now - it's all fitted in but I did have to lie on the bag to zip it up and I'm going to have to leave a lot of stuff in Jinja as there's no way it's all going back in the bag! Bit nervous about going to Jinja but I'm sure it'll be fine - and I can always come back here if I miss wireless internet access, the cook, the driver....

Advertisement



11th January 2009

Jealous!!
Ahh Katie your making me so jealous!!! haha I hope you taking loads and loads of photos! Glad your having a great time! XoX
22nd November 2015

kerssemakers
I was googling to find out about a Kerssemakers living in Uganda in the 1960/70's who used to produce Serenade label 45 records. I am making a documentary in Uganda on the music scene of the 1970's and would want to know more about the involvement of a kerssemakers in the music industry. If your family is related, could you please contact me? Thank you.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb