Lake Bunyonyi to Jinja


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Eastern Region » Jinja
October 4th 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys, its me again from Jinja on the White Nile. I spent last weekend lazing around at Lake Bunyonyi, and it was great fun. I also learned quite a bit about the Ugandans, especially that they are quite decent people as i forgot my telephoto lense (bit drunk i was) at the pub and they put it aside for me, instead of just selling it on to someone. Apart from that, they're basically trying to sell you whatever they can sell (including the local special cigarettes), and ask you for money for all kinds of crazy reasons (including their college fees!!), but they are not very insistent if you don't go for it. On Monday, after two days lazing on the pier of the lake, we went down to the local preschool and spent a morning with the children. The kids are soo cute - they are all really interested and curious and hug you and touch you. My class was about 4 or 5 years old and they were just about to learn the alphabet. I had to go through it with them, and i think i did a good job (i tried my best on the 'v' and the 'w'). Afterwards we went back to Kabale which must be about the filthiest place on earth. Wandering round town after 10 at night is NOT recommended and i didn't even try. Next day was pure driving - YAWN....
At last we made our way to Jinja. The campsite toilets and showers are pure juck, but the campsite itself is situated directly on top of the Nile with absolutely stunning views and plenty of booze at night 😉
Yesterday, we went White Water Rafting. I wasn't so sure if i should do it at first, as it is grade 5 rapids and i haven't got a clue about rafting and my insurance - well, they'd probably tell me to f o if something happened to me. I did it anyway and it was great fun. We did I think 11 Grade 5 rapids - the first of them, the Bugali falls, I went down without the raft hee hee. Was the first to get thrown out but after that i did really well and i stayed on the boat, unless for the couple of times when we actually flipped in the waves. The nile is great, a couple of times we just jumped out for a swim as the water was so beautiful. We came back at about 4 o'clock for a nice barbecue. I have to say I walked around the last rapid, which was called 'the bad place'. Well, you can surely imagine why i walked...
That's the news from me, I am having a great time although I have burnt my mzungu skin from nearly head to toe, and i'm usually so knackered at night that i hardly make a beer and 9 o'clock.
love to you all, Katja

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb