Life goes on...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
September 13th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

FoodFoodFood

Casava and banana...I cried when I did not see rice, and then I cried even harder that I was crying about not getting rice...
It seems odd to me writing about life here in Uganda now that it has become almost routine (more on that later). I see the same faces day in and out, and I get the same cries of Mzungu almost anywhere I go. My clothes are permanently covered in the red dust otherwise known as the roads outside of Kampala. I have hit or been hit countless times now on my boda rides in the city, and have just come to think of it as routine at this point. As a white person living in a village outside kampala, and even in certain areas of kampala, I have begun to think of myself as quite important. One cannot walk very far without having someone shout out Mzungu Bye, or Mzungu How are you? Especially with kids. Quite frankly I consider myself the equivalent of Santa Claus or the Easter Bunny. I have started to develop songs to capture the importance of myself. Here is one using the rhythm of the Stone Cutters song from the Simpsons:

Who has money coming out the ass?
Who can organise simple tasks?

Mzungu, Mzungu...

Who can you see from kilometers away?
Who
MattressesMattressesMattresses

22 Mattresses...if only we had known. Moments before these arrived I had a battle with a termite mound growing in the room. Lots of chemicals and concrete later I think they're dead.
keeps kids' tears at bay?

Mzungu, Mzungu....

Who do you charge higher rates?
Who lives behind sealed gates?

Mzungu, Mzungu....

It goes on, and there are many others which I have begun to compose in the brief periods of time that I have to myself.

Against routine: We had a girl show up a couple of weeks ago (not sure if I mentioned it) who had been left at the road by her mom...apparently. Anyway, she picked up all her stuff, and a few other peoples' and took off last Thursday out of nowhere. We sent out search parties in every direction and I could not help but think how great it would be to have a tri-corder, or even walkie talkies or something. I tried to make a map on our chalk board and get the kids excited about looking for her, but the only response I got was, "we're going to beat her when we find her." Luckily, or unluckily, she has not turned up yet.

Sunday after a trip to Jinja (see next blog) we had two visitors from an overland tour come. The kids got quite a feast so that's
Child Labour...Child Labour...Child Labour...

Kenneth and Frankie (both about 10)built these lovely steps which almost broke Julie's ankle. The uncles trust the kids more than me...
good. They also had a riot when all the mzungus and uncles tried joining along in one of the dances. Julie left this past Monday...I fly out Oct. 18th to Bangkok. Kids are back in school, the veranda and dining room are finished, we got the new mattresses for the kids and I ate ants. I think they're ants anyway. If you are ever in Africa (maybe just Uganda) and you see kids run over to the ground somewhere, crouch and get excited, they are waiting for the ants with wings to come out so you can eat them. I don't understand how they think they're sweet, and yet will REFUSE to drink plain, filtered water.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

VerandaVeranda
Veranda

Veranda! Sweet deal. I took the opportunity to damage the floor first when I was moving the water filter. Nothing too serious though...just enough to break it in.


2nd October 2006

Hi Ryan.. sounds like Uganda has been good to you. Great reading your blog and I can hardly wait to buy your CD with African songs... safe journey. Mamma Lyth

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb