This is it!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We've finally made it to the Backpackers Hostel, Kampala! Our flight was late taking off, and there was significant turbulence over the Med, but nothing intrepid explorers cannot handle. Entebbe is right on Lake Victoria and it was an amazing sight landing there. Lovely Phil was at the airport (a small affair, soon to be refurbed) to meet us, having waited over an hour, and we piled our bags onto the roof of a cool, red African bus. It took a little over an hour from Entebbe to Kampala; we stopped to change money in a very smart bank where there were men with various sorts of gun, and someone also arranged a block purchase of local SIM cards. The blue skies are full of Marabou Stork and a large, fringe-winged vulture I cannot accurately identify (couldn't see if hooded or white-headed). In the hostel, Annie and I are sharing a twin room (and twin mosquito nets). Mine is def. the heaviest rucksack here, and now that I've opened it to get my shorts out I fear it will never close again! After a short rest (we had barely any sleep on the plane) we are going sightseeing: a craft market and a visit to the Kasubi tombs - burial site of the Buganda kings. The students (some of them) are screeching - I think they've seen a lizard, and a small monkey has just put a hand through the bars of the window as I type! I have to go and take photos. More as and when. It's fab to be here at last! Felicity

Advertisement



2nd April 2007

Monkeys
I can't believe it - a monkey at the window! That says it all! "Our students are screeching" - no change there, then. The sun is out here and they are predicting temp to reach 19/20 degrees. Fat lot of good that is compared to Africa. Missing you all.
2nd April 2007

sounds fantastic
Great news. We're all so jealous. Kevin talked about your blogg in briefing - monkeys, lizards and weariness after so little sleep. What a good idea this blog is - will look regularly. Lots of love, Helen
2nd April 2007

lucky you
All's well here (even though me and Mathew are spending all day on duty as cover doesn't seem to have been sert for these!) - anyway lovely and sunny here - enjoy your holiday (oops i mean educational trip!!) love to all
2nd April 2007

Vulture Watch
Pleased you and group arrived safely. Have been googling like mad to identify your vulture - I think it is the Hooded Vulture, Necrosyrtes monachus but need idea of size. Hope your long journey tomorrow is fine and blog when you can.
3rd April 2007

mesage to annie
I have tried ringing like you said but everyt time it tells me that ure not able to take my call, therefore I rang WMA and they told me bout this blog, dont worry i have calmed mamie down and will be checking on your update everyday. Have a lovely time, everything is fine here dont worry. All my love to everyone
13th April 2007

I can't believe it!
Felicity it sounds amazing already! I am so pleased you arrived safely. Did you manage to get a photo of the monkey? The trip to the bank sounds totally surreal. I hope you manage to get your rucksack closed again! I can just imagine you being the person with the heaviest bag! That made me laugh! It is very quiet here today and nothing to report at all. I look forward to reading your next blog entry. Take care and look after yourself. I hope the mosquito net is up to the job! Lots of love Susan x
13th April 2007

Fantastic! (forwarded)
April 2nd 2007 fantastic "Helen Smith" Great news - monkeys, lizards and lack of sleep. We're all so jealous. What a good idea this blog is - will log in regularly. Love Helen Re: This is it!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb