Last Day


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Tunis
August 22nd 2008
Published: August 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

It is officially the last day of my foolhardy North African adventure (volume I).

It has been packed. Did I actually say that I would be able to relax in Tunis? I vaguely remember using the words 'chill out'.

Today I went to my first and second legit museums of my entire 6 week trip. I am so le cultured.

I visited mostly all the old Carthaginian ruins near Tunis in the 35 degree, humid weather. Able to look at the crystal clear blue Meditarranean but never close enough to go in!

I shopped for souvenirs, bargaining with shopkeepers, trying to maintain some dignity in miniscule souq-marketplace change rooms, and navigating the little boutique lined roads (with century old cobblestones and massive crowds- not easy!). And all amid the ubiquitous cries of 'japanese? chino? ...married?'

-as an aside, Kristen, I found a tshirt that said 'I am so great Im jealous of me' and I came THIS close to buying it for you, but it aside from being brilliant, it was just too ugly and expensive, and I couldnt bring myself to do it. I know what Im going to get you though, dont worry-

And this is only today. Since the last time I wrote, I spent a glorious, glorious, GLORIOUS day at the beach. Able to lie in my two piece unharassed as I was in the 'zone touristique', and was surrounded by Italians whose idea of cultural sensitivity is not going topless. Twas excellent; there seems to never be a cloud in the sky, the sun is brilliant, and the water is so clear you can see your shadow no matter how far you swim out.

If anyone is searching for a good beach in Tunisia where you go unharassed, go to Mahdia!

Other than that, I have been mostly shopping, shopping, shopping. Going crazy after 6 weeks in the same disgusting two tshirts and two pairs of pants (that went pretty much unwashed the entire time). I went to this beautiful little town called Sidi Bou Said with the Algerian guy that I met (that actually happens to be the African junior record champion holder in high jump...) and again, and always, to the beach.

I am now listening to the macarena in the cybercafe.

This is stuff that Im going to miss!

But to infinity and beyond. I am very excited to be heading back to Cairo-

somewhere where I KNOW people already? Where I know where Im staying? ... Where I can Unpack!

I dont want school to start; I want to remain a dirty traveling hobo. But it is definitely more than a consolation that my flight is to Cairo, and not already back to Canada (beloved as it is to me).

I hope all is well with all, and that everyone is having a great last couple days of summer. I expect epic frosh stories, with photographic evidence, from those who have it!

Stacey

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb