Inspirational chat about life with CS members in Sousse !!!!


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Sousse
November 23rd 2008
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up at about 9am and had breakfast. Ricky, Houssem and Iwent to the bus stop. I went to the medina to check out the Sousse medina while Ricky went to Tunis to spend the day in Tunis before catching a flight to Egypt. Houssem went back home as he had lots of homework to finish and I proceeded on my own to the medina.

The views from the Ribat were very beautiful and the mosque courtyard looked quite impressive too. It’s a pity that they didn't allow people to the viewing area as it would have been a good place to take people shots. It was being refurbished.

Houssem sent me Adam and Rebecca’s number as they were not doing anything Houssem said I could meet up with them for lunch. I texted Adam and they said they will meet me at 1230pm for lunch. They took me to their favourite restaurant and I had couscous for the first time. One of their friends Ursula from Germany joined us. She has been living in Tunisia for the past 18 years.

I didn't realise that couscous was that nice, however I still prefer my rice nevertheless it is a good non-fat healthy alternative to rice.

Adam and Rebecca didn't allow me to pay and furthermore invited me to their place for me to log on to the net. Afterwards I had a long chat with Rebecca while Adam was on a Skype call with someone from Canada. The attitude that they have on life is exactly the same as mine and it was a from a certain point of view a very inspirational chat clearly very different to what the majority thinks and you probably won’t agree to what I’m about to say. Rebecca got a job in the UAE and they decided to sell their flat in Canada and gave up everything they had in order to move, shortly before their move the job fell through. They had decided to move and now nowhere to go. So they decided to go somewhere affordable with the money they had saved. They narrowed down the search to Ecuador and Tunisia and finally decided on Tunisia.

They didn't speak much French and no Arabic at all but they came here with no intention of working but to just chill without working. More often than not it’s a difficult decision to make to do nothing. A good 99% of the time when you meet someone one of the main question people ask is what do you do and you always want to give an impressive answer but never an answer like I have decided to stop slaving for other and spending all my time for the benefit of someone else and have decided to spend time doing what I like doing, which perhaps could be reading a book.

The next question people ask is how you plan to support yourself, the answer is if you happen to lead a very simple non materialistic life it’s not very difficult to work very little and earn some money and spend most of your time doing what you want. I believe people should create a balance between the two because these days’ people are too materialistic. If you don’t slave all your life, you could probably never own a house, this leads to another question do you actually own your house? You slave all your life to buy something which you don't take when you die.

This is a very elaborate topic which I don’t intend to bore you with hence moving swiftly on. Houssem’s friend Mohammed called saying that he and some of his friends were at a cafe and if I wanted to join. I met up with them and later got back to Housssem’s around 1030pm. Mohammed's friend Bilal said he will accompany me to Monastir the next day and we decided to meet at 8am. Bilal studies in Monastir.

After having a chat with Houssem and watching a few downloaded episodes of Big Bang Theory I slept around 1am. It’s one of the funniest comedies I have watched.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb