Day 6, January 9


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Sidi Bou Said
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today we had classes for the second time. It was difficult, and I don't think everyone understood the grammatical concepts he was trying to teach us. Or at least I hope I wasn't the only one.
We had lunch at Cafe Fayrouz again, excellent again. When Samia tries to speak Arabic to some locals, a lot of the time they only respond in French. Her parents are Lebanese but she never learned French, so it frustrates her. I'm trying to to use my French a lot but its difficult not to sometimes, especially because I don't have a huge Arabic vocabulary. Ines had off today so we (Ines, Jenn, Basma, and myself), went to Sidi Bou Said. It was nice because we got to see more than we had the first time. The views were spectacular. It was clear why its such an expensive place to live. We had harqoos (sp?) on our hands, which looks something like henna. It was pretty but at the same time I wondered if I looked like a total tourist. After dinner at home (sandwiches), Asja and Samia asked me to go with them to a cafe. They liked the harqoos. We were met there by Dan, Nick, and Khalil. We smoked some sheesha (not a drug), drank mint tea, and hung out talking for a while. I impressed them with my hijab wrapping ability, which I learned from the internet. It was very relaxing. People really get to know each other when they travel together.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb