Into Africa


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Sidi Bou Said
January 8th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Written by: Robin

And so it begins! We have been in Tunisia for five days now, and I am in love with this country! It is very difficult to type, so excuse any typos-- we use an Arabic-French keyboard, and it is very disorienting.

WELL everyone on our trip gets along very well. It does not surprise us very much, since we all have so much in common. Our families are incredible. Carolyn and I are in a large family that seems to collect foreign students. There is a Norweigian girl staying for a year!

One thing I love about Tunisia so far is the wide variety of languages spoken. French and Arabic are spoken equally, really. Next comes English, thank God. I am getting used to using my little French constantly though. Tunisian is spoken; not Arabic. So we all have to learn the dialect, or else everyone laughs at our formal speech. Kind of like a Brit in America, only worse. "Pardon me, my good sir, would you be so kind as to point me in the correct direction of a water closet? You are too kind." It's funny. When I do speak Tunisian or Arabic, they STILL laugh. But we figured out it is because they are proud of us-- like a baby's first words!

I have to go. Others need the internet. But before I am done, I have to say....... The men are beautiful. EVERYWHERE there are tall, gorgeous men smiling at me. Better than Italy! I told my host-mother I was afraid I would be a head taller than everyone, men and woman, but no. Many are a full head taller than ME!!! Last night Carolyn told our mother that we both love how beautiful the men are, but that I love men much more-- a little too much. Our sisters and mother thought that was hysterical, and have been teasing me ever since! We have plans to go out for dinner and tea tonight with our sister and her friend a block away. He is the host brother of two guys on our trip, and they are coming with. After the teasing started, our mother and sisters started to tell me they will hook me up with this boy-- he is a good boy, good family, very good-looking, and the best part, VERY TALL. It is very cute; so we will see. My mother here is looking after me. She says she makes sure her girls are seeing only the best boys in Tunisia!

Speaking of, our family is fantastic. They speak almost only French, which has rekindled my love of the language. I swear, we have been completely adopted, and we just got here. But this is all for now-- I will be back on in a few days!!! Au revoir!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb