Construction In Dar es Salaam: An Update


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

From the ashes...

Last fall, I told you about the construction taking place around my neighbourhood. I explained how they used straight logs as scaffolding, and how the workers wore sandals, shorts, and no hard helmets.

When I took the pictures of the apartment building going up across the street from my home, they were working on the fourth floor. Ssomeone told me that the limit of storeys in our neighbourhood is 7. I don't know if that is true, because the building has peaked out at 9 storeys. Everyone has theories here, and one is that the owner is "connected" and has paid off whomever he had to to get what he wanted. I believe that one, nothing is corrupt-free around here.

The top floor appears to have two penthouses and I hear that there are three elevators going in.

Progress is happening in Dar es Salaam... one apartment building at a time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th June 2012

Postcard
Hey Bob Thanks for the great postcard. Love it. So did the grandkids. Peter & I and the whole family are headed off to the UK for a fortnight. We will be back before the Olympics start up. Going to a wedding in Ireland and then to London for a few days. Your Mediteranean trip sound fantastic. Keep us posted. Love you lots. Deb xoxoxo

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb