done!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
August 6th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone!!

This week has been filled up with so much stuff, I don't even want to go to sleep or take naps, knowing that I'll be leaving tonight!

a few days ago, myself and 3 other volunteers went to an orphanage called Light in Africa. It was founded by Mama Lynn, who had the calling one day as she walked down the street, to "go to africa." she left her husband, as he wouldn't support this, and her two daughters followed her to africa. The then set up four separate orphanages throughout Tanzania, and all of them rely completely on donations and volunteers. The one we visited was for infants and children with disabilites. It was an extremely homely orphanage, with a family room and bedrooms. I saw one little girl there in the infant room who was four years old, but in the body of an infant. Her disease caused her thigh bones to grow upwards. She couldn't be held because it was too painful, they said that she was abandoned there a few months ago.

There were a few ten-ish year old boys around, and they were all FLUENT in english, it was amazing. Mama Lynn tries her hardest to send all of the orphans to private schools where they learn English- I honestly felt like I was talking to American little boys. Their manners were better than mine! Light in Africa is definitely another possible volunteering experience I'd like to have, I'm thinking about it!

On Thursday, Kate and I met Edward, a teacher from the OBrien School for the Maasai, for lunch in Arusha. He took us to a place called "Maasai Camp"- which was really beautiful with some good food and music. He kept telling us how he needs teachers at his school- and Kate and I are both thinking of coming there one summer to teach and live in a little hut together!
I had my last day of placement on Thursday at Karanga school. I bought the kids lollipops and exercise books and we just took pictures and played. Mama Antonia wrote me a sweet letter of thanks and had the children present it to me- the tears definitely came and I couldn't stop crying on the walk home. I've only been there 4 weeks, but these children have left such a mark on me.

Yesterday, Barbara (another volunteer who left about an hour ago for US), went on a horseback-riding safari in the foothills of Mount Kilimanjaro at a place called Makoa farm. It was a perfect, beautiful ending to my stay in Africa. We went on a long ride in the morning, explored the farm in the afternoon, and then went on a sunset ride under Kili. There were ALL kinds of animals at the farm- It is owned by 3 german vets, so all of the animals had some type of problem. There were monkies jumping on my head and bush pigs running everywhere. There were peacocks, eagles, storks, bush babies, and LOTS of horses. I rode a horse named Siggy and a horse named Cisco on the evening ride. They served us a delicious lunch with TZ coffee and cake. It was a perfect ending.

I'm about to go to Moshi in a few minutes for the last time. I'm hoping to have a tanzanian CD made for me, they're about 4 bucks for 20 songs. This will be my last blog entry! Thanks to everyone who has been reading and sending me your thoughts. This has been the most incredible, eye-opening experience of my life and I can't wait to show you all pictures and video from my trip. Africa is a place that I definitely won't forget and will hopefully come back to shortly.

Kwaherini- see you all soon!
K

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb