July 7th Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
July 7th 2008
Published: July 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone! We survived the Serengeti (wild elephant "attack" and all) and have moved onto Zanzibar. Totally different here: more touristy, like Panama City or Destin. Hot, Hot, Hot. Humidity like down south - unlike other parts of Tanzania which were hotish days and colder nights. And they call this Winter!

We flew over here today using two small planes (about 10 passengers). Even though it is so hot here, we must dress modestly due to culture and Islam influence. We are both well - no major sickness thankfully, however, it is easy to get dehydrated. Kind of like Israel in summer.

We finished our safari in Serengeti and it was truly beautiful. Try to see a picture when Lindsey posts them to the site, maybe in two weeks or so. We drive in a jeep and come onto a herd of elephants or zebra and you can see how they live in their natural environment. Very humbling to realize that Africa is so vast and you can literally look down at the ground and see it full of life - the different insects, plants, etc. We had a great guide for our entire Tansania trip, his name was Samwell. He is a native Masai (one of the last tribes here to maintain their traditional ways) and he was wonderful. We really got to know him well. He called me Mama Diana and he was Papa Samwell. Lindsey called him Papa. Very knowledgeable and all that we needed to know.

The last camp we stayed in in the Serengeti was a tented camp. I think some of you would laugh to see Lindsey and I camping but we made do with what we had. It was a very British kindof place which was interesting. It was the furthest camp out and took a long time to get there. Once there, you realize how isolated you truly were. We sat on our front "porch" and just viewed the scenery. Our first evening there I woke up about 4:00 a.m. and could not breathe. I assumed it was a wind storm and mentioned something to LIndsey that afternoon. She found out that an elephant had come through the camp and raised up the dust. That was a very bad smell and nothing I had ever experienced. I almost thought I had dreamt the whole thing - but sure enough it was an elephant running by our tent! Just another day in the Serengeti.

Tomorrow we have a Spice Tour to see where so many spices come from in
Zanzibar. Then free for the day to maybe hit the beach, but the sun is way too strong for me so I don't know.

Hope everyone is well and please drop us a note. It is good to hear from home as we have been away for so long.

Love, Diane

Advertisement



8th July 2008

Mom and Lindsey
I am so happy that you have gotten through the Serengeti healthy and that you have had some awesome (and scary) experiences along the way. hope you are having a great time and wish that I was with you. I miss you both and am counting down the days until you are home. I can't wait to hear all about your adventures. I love you!!!!!!! Allie
8th July 2008

Totally Jealous!
I am very green back here in Alabama! It is good to read that you guys are doing so well and are having such a wonderful life experience. I cannot wait to see pictures, but I am sure they will not do the true view justice. Stay safe. ~Lanie

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb