Quiet Time in Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
June 17th 2003
Published: October 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On the way to MorongoroOn the way to MorongoroOn the way to Morongoro

Grandma sitting in the back of the truck.
So here I am in Zanzibar basking in the quiet of an internet cafe which is a contrast to the extremely noisy streets and alleys here. I got here on the ferry yesterday with my brother, my niece Heather, nephew Martin, and a house friend. My brother and the kids went snorkeling, but I decided to go on my own. I had big plans for Zanzibar, but it seems I got into town too late to catch any interesting tours and all my attempts to go sightseeing on my own haven't worked out. So maybe I'm supposed to be just relaxing and writing y'all. Actually, this is a really good option.

We took the fastest ferry and the ride was exciting. On the way, my brother managed to get himself into the crew cabin where they control the ship. He met the manager of the boat company. They got to talking and the manager was interested in the work my brother does with an orphanage in Dar es Salaam. He knew of an orphanage here in Zanzibar that needs help and ask if my brother's group could help. So to make a loooong story short, my brother was later introduced
Hiking up Uruguru MountainHiking up Uruguru MountainHiking up Uruguru Mountain

In Morongoro. My brother hired a porter so we were free to enjoy the hike mostly pack free.
to the First Lady of Zanzibar. It happens that she is in charge of helping the orphanage. He now has free passage to Zanzibar anytime he wants to come... and we have a free ride back to Dar.
But that's not all! When we got in a cab to look for a hotel, they drove us to an extremely expensive hotel- The Zanzibar Beach Resort. I kept saying, "We can't afford this. The guide book says it's over $200 a night."
He said for me not to worry and went in to talk with the manager. When he came out, we had keys to two rooms for two nights including breakfast for free. Missionary work pays well in some ways in Africa.
So, tomorrow we return to Dar and then we head to the Ngorongoro Crater a couple of days later. This is the big safari that should be an experience of a lifetime.
Last week we went to Morongoro a town about three hours west of Dar. There is so much I want to tell you about that trip, but my internet time is running out and so I have to hurry up and press send.



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Camping on UruguruCamping on Uruguru
Camping on Uruguru

We unknowingly camped at a scout camp about halfway up the mountain until about 100 scouts showed up to camp there as well. We joined in on some of the activities. It Made the trip more interesting.
People going to marketPeople going to market
People going to market

Early the next morning people were coming down off the mountain to go to market.
Some of the scouts Some of the scouts
Some of the scouts

that camped with us.
The hike was pretty steep.The hike was pretty steep.
The hike was pretty steep.

...and I was exhausted.
We couldn't start a fire andWe couldn't start a fire and
We couldn't start a fire and

The scout master stopped by to help. He wound up runing up the mountain to get us some matches and the kids had their hot food.
I think this had been some sortI think this had been some sort
I think this had been some sort

of colonial plantation at one time.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb