Gemma Del Est


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
June 25th 2005
Published: June 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

WHAT? Hot water? Fresh pineapple juice? Lounging on the private white sand beach? Sailing on the Indian ocean in a laser? Walking barefoot? A pool right outside my hotel room window? Sun salutations on the beach in the morning? Lovely pasta at every meal? Sugary cookies for breakfast? Italian espresso?

Yup, that’s right, all of the above and then some! Just got back from a fantastic, luxurious and relaxing weekend in Paradise (note the capital P) arranged by the wonderful and witty Alex. Roughly translated, Gemma del Est means “Jewel of the East.” It is an “Italian Resort for Italians” (and this time, for a few Canadians and Swiss) located near Kendwa Rocks on the northeastern tip of Zanzibar.

Now this was definitely a change from the last time I visited Zanzibar, which was still a wonderful paradise (note, no capital p) but on a totally different scale! I had walked by this resort on my last trip and goggled at the sheer size and opulence of the place but never had I imagined that I’d ever be staying there!

I will keep this entry short and let the pictures speak for themselves. Many many many thanks to
The Dhow in our Living RoomThe Dhow in our Living RoomThe Dhow in our Living Room

Alex described the place we would be staying at as a "bungalow" and mentioned that we might have to sleep on the couch. Um, which one - there were SIX sofas and FIVE bedrooms plus a kitchen, office, and dining table for a mere 12 in our humble abode.
Alex!



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Purple Toe BuddiesPurple Toe Buddies
Purple Toe Buddies

Ah... the fun reminders/scars of the Caribou Half Marathon. Didn't really need toenails anyway, right?
Boat at Kendwa RocksBoat at Kendwa Rocks
Boat at Kendwa Rocks

One of many picture-worthy sites seen while on mission to find batteries and pina coladas.
FishingFishing
Fishing

The women in the background are gathering a fishing net while singing songs.


16th July 2005

Thanks Melissa -
HI Melissa - Just a quick hello - It looks like you are having a fabulous time over there. That is really great. You will have so many memories of your time there in Africa!! I am jealous!!! Hope to see you when you get back to Calgary. Irene
7th July 2006

Speechless!
Hey! Melissa, I can't stop staring at the picture at the very top. That sure is paradise. Am trying to stand right there and imagining no one else but me at that spot. Oh! I wonder how it feels at dawn when the hot sun isn't out yet, just the sound of the water.....Mmmm. Last time I tried to make it to Zanzibar I found the last ferry gone for the day. On my next trip I now know just where to go, all thanks to you, its just so eden-like....I can feel it! The red Khanga seems to have been made just for you...Very pretty!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb