Swahili Lesson


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
February 28th 2009
Published: February 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I really enjoy my time here, mostly because I see new shit everyday that I'll never see again. Like today, as we walked through the open air market in Stone Town, I just saw a guy beating the crap out of a dead octopus with a big wooden stick. Don't ask why, I don't have a clue. It's probably normal for people here to pummel octopus, maybe it makes them taste better, enriches their flavor. But for me it was hilarious and horrifying and another one of those things that I'm glad I've experienced.

Ok, due to popular demand, a quick Swahili lesson. As I said before, its a pretty simple language, straightforward. The words are spelled as they are pronounced so don't worry about being right, just go for it.

Hello - (to one person) hujambo (and they respond) sijambo (pronounced hu-jambo and cee-jambo).

By saying hujambo, your saying "you have no problems?" and when you resond with "sijambo" your telling them that "I have no problems." Over the years, this became the standard greeting for Swahili. Cool, huh.

How are you - the easiest and most common way to ask somebody how they are is "habari" (pronounced ha-bar-ee). The response to "habari" is always ALWAYS "nzuri" (pronounced nnn-zur-ee, not nee-zur-ee) meaning "good." I find it amuzing that there is only one response to "habari" but greetings here are formal and structured.

You can combine "habari" with other things to be more specific. So when I say "habari za leo" I am asking "how is your day" or "habari za watoto" (how are the kids), "habari za asubuhi" (how is your morning), or my favorite "habari moto moto" (whats the hot news). Again, the answer is always nzuri.

Other greetings include "mambo" (whats up), "vipi" (slang for whats up) and "salama" (peace). The answers, or my answers at least, are "poa" (great), "hapana" (nothing), and "salama" (peace), respectively.

thank you very much- "asante sana" (pronounced ass-ant-ee sana) you may remember rafiki in the Lion King sing "asante sana squish banana" which translates to "thank you very much, squish a banana" and does, in fact, mean absolutely nothing. On a side note, I'd be delighted to watch Lion King with anybody who fancies it when I return.

no thank you - "hapana asente sana" a phrase needed to get the street vendors to leave you alone. Often accompanied with putting your hands out and giving the "no" hand gesture

I need a bathroom.... NOW - "ninahitaji choo sasa" (pronounced nee-na-he-taj-ee ch-o sasa) for those times when the stuff in you is going to come out, whether you squeeze or not, this phrase comes in handy.

I am a student. I have no money, - "mimi ni mwanafunzi. Sipesa." (pronounced me-me nee mmmm-wana-foon-zi. Cee-pesa) Even though I always carry around thousands and thousands of schillings, I still use this phrase sometimes.

its not you, its me - "si wewe, ni mimi" (pronounced cee way-way, nee me-me) because lets face it, its universal.

sorry - "samahani" (pronounced "sa-ma-han-ee) an important phrase because the streets are crowded and I'm always bumping into people. If people are kind, they'll respond "bila samahani" meaning "don't be sorry"

I need safe drinking water. Please stop talking to me, I just want to sleep because am drunk - Ninahitaji maji safi. Tafadhali hunanisema, ninataka kulala fofofo kwa sababu ninalewa. " For this one, I'm going to let you figure out when and where to use it. Take care, thanks for reading. I'm going to be in Jozani Forest this week camping out with everybody so no posts. But I'll post again next week. Salama.

UPDATE: Tyler. If I want to say something in Swahili, will you tell me how? - "Yussuf. Nikisema cho chote Kiswahili, unakuambia gani?" Anything that you so desire, I will translate into Swahili. Prepare to be impressed, although I could write anything and you have no whether its right or wrong. Yet I take an oath to translate accurately, pinky swear. Leave.your.sentence.in.comments.

Advertisement



19th March 2009

help??
How do you say get me some food right now in swahili? Chakula ..........? Hopefully you will be able to help me. I am typing a paper, and I need to know this.
23rd March 2009

Food Lesson
If you want to say "I need food right now" you'd say "ninahitaji chakula sasa" break it down ni=I na=currently/presently hitaji=need chakula=food sasa=now good luck!!!!
23rd November 2009

Mistake in swahili
They are some mistake in translating the swahili word.am teacher of swahili. When we say 'i have no money' this is verb to have. It suppose to be sinapesa which is negative from the word ninapesa. Am drunk, this is past perfect tense in swahili we it 'me tense' so it suppose to be nimelewa. Also the word 'will you tell me now' in swahili is 'utaniambia sasa'. U-is subject prefixe for you, ta-future tense, ni-object enfixe for me and ambia is verb which means tell. That what i can say for today,sorry my english is poor.
20th January 2010

Teacher
What is the word for teacher in Swahili? I would like to teach my young student how to say teacher in Swahili.

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb