Lots of chilling


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
October 30th 2008
Published: October 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all am currently in Rwanda but gonna do two blogs cos has been so long and I guess not many of you will be bothered to read 1 long one so if I do two u can read it wen uz are bored.

So I will start were I left off, that nite after I done my last blog I went on a nite safari which was cool we had a crazy driver who sped around in the dark with only a torch for a light which was really cool, he was going at least 30/40mph off road was a lot of fun clearing bumps, but was worth as when we had only a few minutes left to get out the park we spotted a leopard walking along, it was well worth the back breaking drive and bloody good fun.
That nite I pitched my mossy net under the truck this time and lucky I did as I had a hippo less than 2meters away from me, that was a little more scary especially when I could still hear the sound of hyenas all about. I must say though if anyone ever goes Africa definitely stay at the South Luwanga camp as it by far the best ever place I have ever stayed in my life, after all were else in the world could you sleep in a tent with elephants, and hippos walkin rite past your door it was totally amazing.

After here we crossed over into Malawi and when they call this a lake its an understatement, it has its own waves its so big you couldn’t even see to the other side.
Had a room here which was cool and at the first place we stayed met some DJs from the Scratch Perverts seemed like nice blokes, they were DJing at a festival down south in Malawi which a couple of people on the trip went down to.
I stayed were we was and dived for a couple of days which was cool, did a deep dive of 26m and a nite dive as well which was really cool as you had only a torch light to swim by, saw loads of little fish down there but only a few catfish of about 1m long, but was good fun.
After the divin I then invested in some cake which the locals cool Malawiwowee needless to say it was pretty good and there was sum left over for our journey to our next spot along the lake so the 6hr drive went pretty quick.

After leaving Malawi we crossed into Tanzania and the scenery got more green, had a couple of bushcamps till we arrived in Dar Salaam and crossed the ferry over to Zanzibar, what an interesting ride this was, firstly it was a windy day so the waves were putting the ferry nearly sideways then we had the privilege of watching an old Jackie Chan film which could tell was a copy as it skipped and jumped with every wave. Then if that isn’t funny enough the ferry then went a little silent and the captain comes down to inform us that one of the engines has had a problem, some of us who were outside could see the problem was it was on fire!
Lucky for us they had a second engine, so the 1.30hr boat trip took nearly 4 wat a good start. So we had a day in Stone town which is really cool and I have bought a couple of paintings, had had lunch in Mercuries which is named after Freddie Mercury because he was actually born on Zanzibar. There a little bit of info you mite not have known.
Well I will stop this blog here and try and get another up soon as the computer I am writing this on have already crashed twice. Good old Africa.


Advertisement



1st November 2008

Tears in my eyes
I am sitting on my bed on a Saturday morning crying....it brings back so many memories, I want to come back out there, sob! I loved Tanzania...did you not go to the north on Zanzibar? That was pretty... Oooh, I'm looking forward to the Serengeti blog, and the crater - they were amazing. Oh good god life here is depressing...I'm getting antsy....

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb