Christmas Day - Merry Christmas!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 25th 2005
Published: December 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Mamas na watotoMamas na watotoMamas na watoto

These are just some of the people who came on Christmas day. Except for Mama Sarah, Mona and Matthew who are part of my host family. Mama Sarah (the adult on the left) is the Bishop's wife, Mona (in the white in front of Mama Sarah) and Matthew (boy in the right of the picture) are the Bishop's grandchildren. This photo was taken by Jenny.
Merry Christmas to all! Just a quick note of explanation, the reason there are two travelblogs marked 25th December is that I have decided to match up the day described with the date, so far I have always described the day before the date, so for one day, there will be two blogs as I change.

The culture is different here, and so Christmas is different. Unfortunately my day didn't start brilliantly, as I was sick before breakfast, possibly due to some grass smoke. As a result I stayed at home to rest whilst most of the family went to church, dressed up in their best clothes.

I had no long lasting problems from being sick, and by lunchtime a couple of other families had arrived, including some of Mama Sarah's eight sisters! I have some photographs taken by both me, and also by Jenny (one of the Bishop's daughters - using my camera). Christmas dinner was very different, it was biriani (spiced rice) and beef. Other items included a savoury banana dish and mince pies (triangular and with beef not dried fruit). Pudding was a sponge cake, or some biscuity type things, and plenty of fruit. There is
ElsieElsieElsie

This is a pciture of Elsie, one of the Bishop's daughters, taken by Jenny.
no differentiation between courses here. There was no formal sit down dinner, instead food is more of buffet style (although it was hot) and people take it with them to wherever they are sitting.

There is not the same culture of present giving here, although there was a game where some of the children got some money. I received a very nice calendar from Jean Howe, the missionary here, with some excellent pictures of Zanzibar. The Bishop and his wife both appreciated the presents I gave them though, Mama Sarah got a mug from Cambridge and the Bishop received a CD of singing from Kings College and a calendar of rural England.

In the evening I went for a walk around Zanzibar Town, it is good to feel well enough to go for a long walk.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

JennyJenny
Jenny

This is a picture of Jenny, another of the Bishop's daughters. This picture was taken by me.
MiriamMiriam
Miriam

This is a picture of Miriam, one of the Bishop's daughters. This picture was taken by me.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb