Malaria Negative


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 11th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Stone Town RoadsStone Town RoadsStone Town Roads

A picture, actually taken on a previous day, of a Stone Town Road.
Yesterday I visited the Doctor, and had a malaria blood slide test. It came back negative. Given that my symptons were just tiredness and diarrhoea, the doctor has given me some ciproflaxin (an antibiotic) to try to stop the diarrhoea, as well as another drug to calm the digestive system. With my antimalarials at breakfast as well I seem to be taking my fair share of drugs. I guess I'm just not used to taking drugs much, in Britain I would only take the occasional paracetamol. I felt pretty rough yesterday morning, with several visits to the toilet but after the visit to the Doctor - peace down there. However, this morning although slightly better, my digestion system was still far off the norm.

I had a shopping trip in Stone Town afterwards, spending far more than the Doctor cost (the Doctor was very cheap) getting some toiletries and a few other items. The rest of the day was spent resting and reading, for my English teaching as well as a newspaper (this time the better quality Guardian - not the British one)

Annoyingly the water pump is broken, meaning no water out of the taps. Although this does not affect drinking water (which is all bottled) this does mean I had no shower this morning. It's a bit of a pain, but survivable. I will have far worse next month - although I will be able to wash in a river, although now I could wash in the sea.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb