Nilikwenda shambani na niliharisha


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 5th 2005
Published: December 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

ServiceServiceService

Although I did not take any pictures, Nuhu did.
It was my first Sunday in Tanzania, and therefore my first church service here. There was a new priests house opening in small church in the countryside (Sw. shamba), so it was my first experience of Africa outside of a town or city (Sw. Mji au Jiji). The countryside of Zanzibar is actually very green with coconut palms everywhere, and the roads were actually in better condition than in Zanzibar Town (although somewhat narrow). A whole group of us went from the cathedral, and some locals to the village met us. The church was actually a St Andrews (Sw. Andrea), and in a very different style to the Cathedral, much more like the normal houses in the village. The service was sort of like a high Anglican service, though obviously all in Swahili, the hymns/songs (Sw. Nyimbo) were very easy to pick up, although I understood very little of it (and followed the reading in English).

Unfortunately partway through the sermon I started to feel very bad gut movements and a definite feeling of high pressure deep down. So I had to discretely leave and be directed to a locals long drop toilet (no toilet paper - cleanup with water
HouseHouseHouse

Although I did not take any pictures, Nuhu did. This is the new Priest's house complete with flushing loo! (With my seal of approval.)
- although I was very grateful anyway) to egest my diarrhoea. I then sheltered for a while in the shade with Nuhu, and was shown a banana tree to pass the time, as well as drinking a soda to help rehydrate me. After a further soda and some water (Sw. maji), the opening ceremony for the new house was over (and I could use the flushing loo with toilet paper inside!). I went back to Stone Town afterwards feeling weak, tired and distinctly low and had a couple of loperamide (imodium but without the brand name - cheaper) tablets and some rehydrating salt solution and then rested for a couple of hours. I knew I would get diarrhoea eventually, but the timing was a pain and it spoilt what would have otherwise been a very good trip - I couldn't really participate after I went out as I felt absolutely rubbish afterwards. It also stopped me taking any pictures of the village.

Afterwards I just rested, did some more Swahili as well as read up on Zanzibar. By tea time I was well enough for a little food, and now, the next day I feel fine.





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

InsideInside
Inside

Although I did not take any pictures, Nuhu did.


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0747s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb