Jack Fruit


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 3rd 2005
Published: December 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Jackfruit treeJackfruit treeJackfruit tree

This is a jackfruit tree, growing in the Portugese Fort, taken when I looked around Stone Town the first time.
Yesterday I continued working on the website, making lots of progress.

Stanislaus brought me some Jack Fruit (something else in Swahili) to try, which is very nice, not like any fruit I have eaten in Britain. The fruit itself is huge, and we only ate a piece of it. It tastes a little bit like banana, and a little bit like mango, and it is very nice.

I am learning lots of Swahili at the moment, and people are very helpful when they find out I am learning it, but I cannot understand the normal flow of conversation, and I have two phrases that I have to use a lot of the time: sema tena (say it again) and sema polepole (speak slowly). I'm good with all the greetings though.

In the evening it was much quieter last night, although I showed the Bishop's grandchildren some photos on my laptop (they had seen my camera when we went to the beach) and now they keep asking to use it again.

Today I am visiting Stone Town again, although it is now raining (it is the tail end of the short rains). Fortunately showers tend to be short
JackfruitJackfruitJackfruit

This is a piece of the jackfruit, half eaten.
(although very heavy at the time).

I will update you all with more about the Bishop's Family soon, as well as upload some photos (the connection is not all that fast, so it takes quite a long time).

Advertisement



3rd December 2005

Stone in Stone Town
wow stoney, looks like you're having a great time! really enjoyed seeing the photos, your descriptions are great for building a picture in my mind's eye, although i'm sure nothing is quite like experiencing it all in person! looking forward to some more posts and pictures. *matt

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0641s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb