Eastern Beaches


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Jambiani
January 23rd 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Jambiani made my day. The locals were friendly - a refreshing change from Stone town and Kendwa - we could walk through the village without being harassed and just enjoyed talking and meeting the locals. I was ready to leave after Kendwa but I'm very grateful we stayed to see Jambiani - it was far more what I expected Zanzibar to be. Although the downside was that the beach literally disappeared during the day, though late afternoon and early in the morning it was perfect.

The second day I didn't get out of bed - I think it was a bad reaction to the Malaria tablets but I was dizzy, spaced out, my body and head hurt and I had zero appetite. I thought I might have Malaria, but the test proved otherwise. I slept most of the day. In the evening we went to a local's house for dinner. Dario had organised it - it was really good. Mosquito's (his name) wife had prepared us fish, rice, spinage, chipati and the most amazing coconut sauce. We sat on the floor on a mat and enjoyed each others company and the food.

The next day we headed back to Stone Town and got on the overnight ferry back to Dar. It was surprisingly comfortable and I reckon we all could've gotten a decent nights sleep if it wasn't for the crazy local talking to himself for 6 hours straight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb