Western Tanzania, alone in the car with 4 men


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » West » Mbeya
November 19th 2006
Published: December 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

about 2 weeks ago Moshe, an Israeli friend working in Arusha had suggested, out of the blue that I will join him for 2 weeks working tour in Tanzania. Leaving the morning after at 7:00 am. Oh come on!! dont you know a girl takes time to get ready? The most western spot he was aiming at was Mbeya, about 100 KM from the Malawi border. After considering the options I have decided it's a good opportunity to get back into traveling mode and use this trip to head to southern Africa after a very long stay in Tanzania.. later that day we met for lunch, when he told me he's not going alone with the driver but with other 2 men: Mika a sales man working for him and Martin - a debt collector... sure, it got me thinking again - what, am I crazy, going alone with4 men, 3 of them are Africans.... but, I've decided to be brave, give the trip a chance and worst comes to worst, will escape in the nearest town... so I've packed all I had, gave away what ever I didn't need and - - - ON THE ROAD AGAIN!!!

I've made it to places tourists never get,remote villages, farms, it became a very interesting trip.
With the African men - at the first evening I broke the ice by eating local dinner with them (with my hands, as a lady should) it took them only few days to pay me the best complement ever - I'm a real African...
Moshe had asked them to take care of me (Moshe stayed in different hotels then we did) so - I was taken care of by 3 nannies: “eat!! get her coffee!! this room is not good enough for you, get her hot water! Call us when you get here” I went to the beach by myself for 2 days camping, they called me every 2 hours to make sure I'm o.k.....

and of course, I got a WIDE window to the world of African men, my Swahili had improved - well.. mainly the bad words
in 2 weeks we have covered more then 5000 km. We have crossed so many different landscapes and weather conditions, we've seen floods we later found out people were evacuated by helicopters, and in the end, I went back home, to Arusha...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.977s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.6932s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb