XMAS TIME


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North
December 15th 2010
Published: December 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

GOING HOME FOR XMAS!
4 days to go and i feel i have no time to leave things ready!!!time has gone soooooo fast!
I have spent the last few days camping with the Hadzabe and taking the HIV program a step further! we camped with the Kampala group and I just learnt that one of the man that we sent to hospital with potential tuberculosis is very ill and need treatment so they have asked me to pay for his hospital bill, around 60000tsh (£30, 35eur).

I have been in Shangarai organising Mama Nice's new organic farm, the chicken shed and the bunk beds i have ordered for the children!
I've also been in Engosengiu visiting some of the very old maasai that are ill and living in terrible conditions so i have arranged for them to have daily milk and food and a house girl to lok after them. there is one of then who is blind with 5 orphans to look after..very sad!

I have been in the tiny Maasai village of Eluwai up in the mountains from Monduli, to take medicines, clothes and some money for food and the hospital for a Maasai girl that is very sick after losing her newborn baby and her husband.
I am also preparing some small xmas gifts for the children in shangarai and Mbauda; i want them to have something special on the 25th. My flatmate Angela is giving Mma Nice 2 chicken as a xms gift and Guillem a cock. I would loe to see their faces but I'll have to see the pictures instead!

Tomorrow another busy day as i need to leave all school fees paid, have to supervise the refurbishment of the MAMA'S KITCHEN CAFE and have to go to shangarai to order more sand and cement for Mama Nice's....
well the cafe is not been named like that any more but M+S CAFE (maria and shannon's cafe). things are going well but workers not very reliable

I had great news today! The ESCP where i did my master's degree is spreading the word about my NGO and the t-shirt sale to support the orphanage building!
They have also approached a business magazine so they can prepare a special edition to talk about us and our work here!
THANKS TO EVERYONE FOR HELPING ME!!
I also had to say goodbye to Guillem and Alain that have left Arusha today and who have been great!

whith love







Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0791s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb