Oldoinyo Lengai


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
August 20th 2010
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Over the weekend we took a fieldtrip. Thank the lord I got my amoeba medication and got them out of my system, because nothing could have prepared me for the physically challenging weekend I just had. The managers of the program had heard about this active volcano, called Oldoinyo Lengai, that was very popular as a night tour. You start the climb in the dark, the hikers wearing head lamps, and you reach the apex as the sun is rising. Apparently it has a gorgeous view and is a pretty hike to the top with lots of greenery. We were all for it. On our way to this volcano we passed by the Ngorogoro crater. The Masai tribe believe this hole in the earth to be where God took his first step in the creation of our planet. As pictures will show, it is huge. But it was time for Lengai! The cars dropped us at the base around 10pm. After walking through brush for 2 hours, our guides informed us that we had just reached the actual base and the incline would begin. AFTER TWO HOURS!? Defeated, a few hikers turned around. The next two hours were an incredible incline in sand. Three steps forward, slide back. My calves were dying. Next two hours, the black ash over time had grown to create hand grips, so I put my socks on my hands and half-pulled myself up with my arms to give my legs a break from the sand. Every few hours the guides would offer to bring the next group of defeated hikers back. However, I was determined to finish the climb. Mind over matter. I could do this! The last two hours, the sun started rising. This was the most dangerous part, so the sun was necessary and very helpful. Because there was a group of us, we were climbing in a single-file line. Near the top there were many loose rocks of varying sizes. When one was jolted from its place, it would tumble down the incline, gathering speed, and we had to duck and cover to be as safe as possible. Finally, we reached the top. Although it was by far the most difficult thing of my life, both the experience and the view from the top made it well worth it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb