Amoebas


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
August 18th 2010
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday we taught again at Musa. The headmaster fed us all for the second day in a row, and guess what? Tuesday night I was sick for hours. This morning I asked our group leader if I should go to the clinic. She suggested I stick it out. However, I'm nervous because this weekend we're supposed to go on a volcanic adventure, and I definitely don't want to be sick for that. I need my strength!!! I would definitely rather know sooner than later and start meds ASAP if anything is wrong. The universe was listening! A few minutes later Tali and Reggie, two full-time volunteers of OHS, drove up in the jeep and asked if anyone needed to go to the clinic because they needed to pick up some medication for one of the kids on site. Score! At the clinic they took blook, urine, and stool samples, (interesting when there is no toilet to sit on). And guess what? I tested positive for amoebas and typhoid fever. Now I knew I had amoeabas (little suckers that weren't boiled out in water that was used for cooking). But no one could believe I had so much energy and also had typhoid fever. Well, the typhoid vaccine I got back in America was a live culture, so obviously I would test positive for it. The cure for amoebas is a one-time pill, and they are gone within 24 hours. Easy. When I got home and told mama that I had amoeabas, she immediately blamed the macande at the school for two reasons. For one, they didn't boil the water properly, and two, they did not pray before we ate. According to mama, if you pray, there is no way God will allow you to become sick. Her solution: from now on Juliet will pack us a lunch when we go to schools.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb