Tanzania - Day 2 (long night)


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
July 1st 2011
Published: July 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

3cubs3cubs3cubs

Ready to Play!
Today's entry started last night about 10 p.m. Mr. Bull Buffalo decided to pay a visit. He is loud and does not care about others. Pushes through items and breaks many of them Including my tent. He made contact a couple of times as he ate his way round the edge of the tent. It was a little uncomfortable. The way the camp is layed out my tent is the first one an animal coming up the slope would find. So Mr. Buffalo was at my front flap eating. However, he was not alone but had friends. Well, maybe not friends--stockers. When I heard the 1st lyon roar uncomfortable went out the door any chance of sleep was over for the night. I now find myself enclosed in my tent, can't see anything outside because of no light, and wondering what I'm I doing here. So, for the next six hours the camp security, Mr. Buffalo, and the Cats play a game of cat and mouse. By the way the CS is armed with flash lights, blocks of wood they bang together, and their voices. So, CS attempts to guide Mr. B back down the slope, Mr. B does not want
vulture1vulture1vulture1

Not bad look for a Vulture!
to go because the Cats are waiting, so around and around they go. I'm in the dark, coming up with a plan incase someone besides a human gets in the text, thinking a person could get killed at this place. Finally around 4 a.m. CS thinks they won the battle and everyone settles down. I don't get much sleep before getting up to leave at 6 a.m. for the game drive. It's still dark so I called CS at 5:45 to come get me. I no sooner put down the phone and Mr. B comes out of the brush for a morning snack in my front porch. CS comes around the corner of the tent face to face with Mr. B. They have a nice chat and after 20 minutes convince Mr. B it is time to leave again. They then get me out of the tent and to my driver.

The rest of the day went great. Lots on lyons and cubs today. Still no big males yet. Found Hyenas with pups but it was still too dark to get could photos. Had breakfast with Zebras and Gazelles. Spend most of the late morning early afternoon with the wildebeest migration. The typical image on TV of the wildebeest stack up at a river is just a very small part in one place on the Serengeti. We drove valley after valley filled with moving animals. The flight path is miles across. Mass of dark moving blobs with Zebras thrown in for color and I saw only part of the Eastern route. Currently they are heading Northeast from the lower Southwest Serengeti. The current estimated popluation is about 1.8 million. They travel two routes. The Western semi-circle route and the Eastern semi-circle route. The sheer size of the event is just overwhelming. I don't even think the video I took will do it justice.

Yes, today was Friday and I had on Orange and Black for a while!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0905s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb