Real Life...Who Knew...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mwanza
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

Holding sleeping babies at church
This last week and a half has been a rollercoaster of experiences and emotions. On Monday we went into town to do some shopping and run some errands. My love for the city of Mwanza grows every time I visit. The streets are always busy and the colors always bright. Because there were six of us wageni, we stood out like sore thumbs, especially me with my blonde hair. However, we were able to buy lots of fabric to have skirts and kangas (wrap around cloths) made. I admit I go a bit crazy in the fabric shops with so many choices and designs. We also stopped at U-Turn, an Indian run “western-style” super market. There we bought things like soap, pasta, mayonnaise and for the Sweds, chocolate. I don’t think I’ve ever seen two women more excited about candy and chocolate before. I myself was happy to buy my Nido (powdered milk) and Milo (chocolate powder). Together they make a great hot cocoa, one of my favorite comfort treats while abroad.

Back at the farm I have begun teaching kickboxing to my fellow staff and volunteers. They absolutely love it. Every night after I’m done teaching we hike up
Photo 11Photo 11Photo 11

working off the chocolate from U-Turn (kickboxing)
the hill behind our houses to the water tower, which has the perfect surface to work out on. Plus the view is amazing which makes for a very “zen” experience. As we punch and kick the air, getting all of our frustrations from the day out, the sun slowly sinks beneath the horizon, touching everything with a golden glow. Not to mention the work out is great!

Teaching is going swimmingly. I am teaching my advanced class grammar and working through my Azar grammar book…my bible at the moment. I am working on setting my intermediate students up with enough vocabulary so that we can begin grammar, which I think they will pick up just fine. However, my beginning class is a big difficult for me. I’ve never taught beginners before, not to mention beginners that don’t know how to read or write in their own language. Therefore, I am starting from square one…the alphabet. Next we’ll do numbers, colors, body parts, etc. I’m trying to incorporate as many art projects as possible which they seem to enjoy. Today I also put up a map in the dining hall where I teach and the girls went crazy, deciding where
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

A view of Mwanza from the Hotel Talapia
they want to travel too and calculating the proximity of one continent to another. It was an educators dream.

I am slowly learning more and more about the girls. Getting to know their personalities and backgrounds. Some of the stories that I am learning though are heartbreaking. However, I’m beginning to understand why some of the girls act the way they do and what kind of behavior to be on the lookout for. Knowing that I am part of their rehabilitation is very gratifying. All of us here at JBFC are trying to give these girls a chance at having a real childhood so that they can one day process things that no one should ever have to process. I am extremely hopeful for their futures and optimistic about their education.

Unfortunately, in the midst of my wild adventure, bad news hit. At the end of last week I was informed that two of my co-workers’ contracts were terminated due to reasons unexplained to me. This was frustrating and extremely devastating. These two women had become like a new family to me as well as a support network. They were expecting to stay at JBFC for an entire
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

bugs bugs bugs
year and were forced to leave after only three weeks. After a very tearful day of packing we took them into Mwanza and spent the night with them in the Hotel Talapia. While there we were able to have a nice dinner, listen to some western music, throw back a few drinks and mingle with other ex-pats. The next morning we shed more tears as we hugged them and sent them on their way to the airport.

This was a very difficult learning experience for me. Now that I am in the “real world” without the safety net of school, I am being made more aware of how businesses and organizations really work. Even something as altruistic as an orphanage in Africa has its low points and ugliness. I unfortunately had to experience both, something that I was not entirely ready for. However, as my sister informed me, I have always been good at making lemonade out of lemons, which is precisely what I intend to do here. At the moment I am focusing on being the best English teacher I can be and making the biggest impact I can on my students. I am also looking forward to
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Name posters that my classes made
our trip to the Serengeti coming up in the next week! Bring on safari animals!

Fact of the Day: When a woman I Tanzania marries, she is never able to re-marry. If her husband dies or leaves her, she must remain single for the rest of her life. We were informed that one of the Tanzanian staff was left by her husband at the age of 22, with a newborn son mind you. She is now a single mother for the rest of her life if she chooses to remain in Tanzania.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

beauty of the farm
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

excitement about travel (the map I brought with me)
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

our lovely seamstress (what's the male version of seamstress??)
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

U-Turn, heaven for the Sweds
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

gorging on chocolate from U-Turn
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Joss and Ashley in action
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

another amazing African sunset
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

putting up my students' project
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

perhaps I was meant to be a nature photographer
P1080135P1080135
P1080135

sweeping out the new school building
P1080374P1080374
P1080374

fashion at church


18th September 2009

Male Seamstress
A male seamstress is a tailor. Just thought you would like to know. All is good at home. Tennis season is almost done. Stay safe and sound and dream good dreams. We love you puddin'. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb