Thank You


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mwanza
August 7th 2009
Published: August 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

4 Girls Sitting4 Girls Sitting4 Girls Sitting

From JBFC website
I can’t believe there are only two more weeks until I embark on my exciting adventure. After months of preparation and apprehension it’s finally happening. The time for speculation and wondering is over. I’m going to get to see and experience Tanzania for myself and I can’t wait!!! But this time I’m the teacher, not the student. I don’t have the safety net of coming back to the U.S. and starting the next semester. This is real life…when did that happen? I will be living with a vastly different perspective than I have on previous adventures. And teaching English no less…not an easy feat by any means. I sure created an uphill climb for myself this time…not that I’m one to turn down a hike. But before I start a new chapter in my life, I think it only fitting to say thank you.

First I want to say thank you to my friends, family and mentors for their love and support over the years. There is no way that I would be who I am and do the things that I do without all of you. Knowing that I have the most amazing support network in the world is
Amani Girls Home 2Amani Girls Home 2Amani Girls Home 2

From JBFC website
what gives me the strength & courage to try my best to make the world a better place somehow. I quote Barbra Cooney’s book, Miss Rumphius, “You must do something to make the world more beautiful.” After growing up with this principle, it’s finally time to follow through. That is how I rationalize traveling to a far away place and working for free to my friends and family, who are both worried and anxious about my health and safety. I’m only following the examples and lessons that they have taught me.

Second, I want to thank my WESLI/MTTP teachers for bestowing their wisdom and knowledge on me. Without you I would be arriving in Tanzania completely lost and scared to death of a classroom. However, in the last 2 months you have shined a light on the English language and have provided me with the skills to not only spread knowledge but also build bridges between people, countries and cultures. You can all expect tons of e-mails from me over the next year that are full of questions and stories.

Next I want to thank my family at the Villari’s Martial Arts Studio. Not only have you all
Christmas Pic 1Christmas Pic 1Christmas Pic 1

From JBFC website
whipped me into shape, but you’ve also given me the confidence and knowledge to handle myself in all sorts of places and situations. All of you made me look forward to kickboxing every week and created a safe and fun place where I could be myself and forget about any negativity that was weighing me down. I absolutely plan to continue learning Martial Arts in the future and maybe one day even teach my own kickboxing class.

Lastly, I want to thank my amazing Ancora co-workers and customers for making this one of the best and most memorable years of my life. Without your help and support I would never have had the means to take this position. I have truly enjoyed getting to know all of you while I served you your daily doses of caffeine. You kept me on my toes, that’s for sure! Without all of your extremely generous donations, I would have no materials for my classroom. At this time our Ancora customers have raised over $375 and over 200 lbs. of school supplies. I can’t even begin to say how thankful I am. You have truly restored my faith in humanity and you should
Girl CookingGirl CookingGirl Cooking

From JBFC website
all be extremely proud that you are part of such a socially conscious and caring network. Also a special thanks to George and Sue, as well as Christy, Ryan, and Becky who allowed me to allow all of you to be involved in something truly special.

I sincerely hope to hear from as many people as possible. If you have a thought, comment, question or anything else to say, please post a message to my blog or send me an e-mail (Kelso1187@gmail.com), I would love to hear from you. If you would like more information on where I am going and who I am working for, feel free to go to the Janada L Batchelor Foundation For Children (JBFC) website: www.jbfc-online.com And I strongly encourage any of you who are interested and have the means, to come visit me and volunteer. You are all welcome at anytime and THANK YOU SO MUCH once again! Stay tuned for the next post!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Girl StandingGirl Standing
Girl Standing

From JBFC website
Girl WateringGirl Watering
Girl Watering

From JBFC website
Girls in LineGirls in Line
Girls in Line

From JBFC website
Girls in Serengeti 2Girls in Serengeti 2
Girls in Serengeti 2

From JBFC website
Girls in SerengetiGirls in Serengeti
Girls in Serengeti

From JBFC website
Jackie on top of HillJackie on top of Hill
Jackie on top of Hill

From JBFC website
Mama T and SophiaMama T and Sophia
Mama T and Sophia

From JBFC website
Rock House- Lake ViewRock House- Lake View
Rock House- Lake View

From JBFC website


7th August 2009

Good luck on your latest adventure
How I envy you as you take off on yet another of life's adventures! With your amazing talents and capabilities, your students will be so lucky to have you impact their lives. (I always thought you'd make a great teacher!) Your footprint on the world will certainly be one that is well worth making. Your mom gave me the card about the collection of supplies and cash. I'll mail you a check...should I make it out to you? Hope to give you a hug before you leave as well!
7th August 2009

You have it right -- make the world beautiful, and better. And make it fun and enjoyable too.
18th August 2009

good luck to you
I was a teacher in Africa (Namibia) years ago from 1994-1996 and it was the best decision I ever made. Ofcourse, there were some tough times and soul-searching, but it is something I will never ever regret. You'll have an amazing time...
19th August 2009

Who will you be teaching with?
I wanted to comment on your amazing entry that shared your insecurities and fears about leaving the US to go teach abroad. I too will be leaving in three short weeks to teach in Tanzania and I just wanted to know who you will be teaching with and how long you'll be there? My job is on a volunteer basis too and I am really excited. It would be neat to chat with you about how you are preparing for this incredible journey. I am so excited! Hope to hear back from you. McKenzie Coulson Portland Oregon

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb