The van's not full...ever


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Musoma
March 4th 2008
Published: March 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ShowerShowerShower

This is how I shower. Out of a bucket. Growing up, I have had to do this multiple times. I actually prefer it this way.
I have begun my language lessons here in Musoma and am trying to learn conversational Swahili (not worrying about grammar or sentence structure) so I can communicate with people. I am trying so hard but feel like I am walking in circles. I long to understand what people are saying and be able to hold a conversation beyond the greetings. I was actually able to have a decent conversation with a young man named Juma on my way home the other night. I felt somewhat accomplished.

My house has been experiencing some changes. We have a new guest staying from Dar es Saalam and she is not great in her social grace. She comes off very harsh which is something I've never been good at understanding.

My team mates and I have been longing to get into our neighborhoods and speak to people and share the gospel. We are still struggling to hold basic conversations so we are praying about using extra money to hire a translator once a week to go out with us.

I am beginning to make relationships in my neighborhood and it is such a blessing. I have begun weaving peices of reeds with
Street ChildrenStreet ChildrenStreet Children

Rudi and her little sister hang out next to the church everyday! Her sister is very scared of us and tends to cry when we get close to her. My goal is to hold her without her crying before I leave!
Ellis across the street. She makes purses, shoes, mattresses, clothes and such. I hope that my work will end up in something of use. I met the ladies next door to me and they were very sweet. Our conversation did not last long due to me not knowing the language but they have invited me over for dinner this weekend.

I have been struggling with spiritual drought. I have felt very dry and can not pin point the source. I am spending a lot of time studying the word and praying. I have faith the Lord will prevail and bring me into His joy once again. I am not certain if it is spiritual warfare that has brought my mood down or God testing me to see if I will stand strong. My faith is not just my heart but also my head and I will not give up.

We road the dala dala this week to teach English to some of the students. I had a blast! A dala dala is a small van that normally holds 11-12 people. Not in Africa. By the time we arrived to Bweri, there were 30 passengers crammed into the van.
PresentPresentPresent

When we arrived, we were given presents. Our presents were kangas that said, "God is our hope" in Swahili on the back. They are the BEST things ever! We love them.
Renee and I were lucky to grab the front seats so we were able to stretch our legs and strike up a conversation with the driver. He had married a Masaai Woman so we learned a lot about Masaai culture....I love the Masaai...that's all I have to say.

The director of the orphange and Baba Moses (my host father) have planned a safari for us through the Serengeti. We are beyond excited! We will be able to see elephants, zebras, lions, tigers and many more wild animals!!! They are also going to be taking us to view the house of the founding president of Tanzania and we will have dinner with his wife. I am very blessed to have the opportunity to see the history of this country!

I am very blessed to hear of your prayers and receive your emails! Thank you for all of the support!





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Street Children 2Street Children 2
Street Children 2

More of the street children that play next to the church.
MarcoMarco
Marco

Marco is the youngest of the Mpanilehi home (where my team mates live). He has the funniest way of speaking and he LOVES candy!
Fish for lunchFish for lunch
Fish for lunch

This is after we had all eaten the fish from the first post of pictures....the guys was soooo good!
Indian OceanIndian Ocean
Indian Ocean

Before language training, we took a mini vacation in Zanzibar. This was our back yard and view of the ocean! It was the best vacation EVER!
American CerealAmerican Cereal
American Cereal

We were excited to find American Cereal in a small shop in Zanzibar...I didn't mention that I wanted Marshmellow mates because I thought everyone would be upset... I told them after we had left and my team mates wanted them too...to bad.
Cobra - the small bush babyCobra - the small bush baby
Cobra - the small bush baby

We met two young boys on the street in Zanzibar and one had a monkey named Cobra...The guys names were Abu and Mustafa...made up names? I loved this little thing!
JesusJesus
Jesus

I guess Jesus is black in Africa. Well, he's white in America....I think he was neither...He was jewish.
Amani ChildrenAmani Children
Amani Children

Lucy, Rachel and Doto...Rachel is the most beautiful child I have ever seen.
Another monkeyAnother monkey
Another monkey

During lunch, our "waiter" had me follow him out the back of the place and gave me a banana...so I feed this monkey and took pictures. It was soooo much fun! Where in La can you feed monkeys during your lunch break?
NapendaNapenda
Napenda

This is the sweet walk we take every day to the Anglican (where we eat lunch). This is what Musoma looks like EVERYWHERE! red dirty roads and people walking! LOVE IT!


6th March 2008

awe yay
since you where little you wanted to go to africa and now the lord has taken your hearts desires. why? because you have delighted in Him. Only His aaron d r miss you girl have a blessed time whil eyou are out there. Hey keep reading your word.
9th March 2008

I love your pictures! Blessings :)
19th January 2010

Greetings!!
Dear friend, God bless you all for the greatest work you did for the Chldreen of Musoma and others.May God bless you all.Also pray for our Ministry at Makambako area.we are also in need of some one to support our Ministry.Please pray for us.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb