Day 1 : First taste of my climb


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
December 24th 2009
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

At Marangu GateAt Marangu GateAt Marangu Gate

Barbara, self and Sue at start of the hike (Marangu Gate)
I woke up to rooster's call around 5. Soon, it was prayer time at a nearby mosque, which was followed by bell tolls from a nearby church. By 6, I was very awake, despite long travel.

John and Ambrose came at 8:30, right after breakfast. I had 2 fellow climbers from Australia - Sue and Barbara. They were to climb just one day and head down on 25th. We drove to Marangu Gate (2 hr journey) but I couldnt catch a glimpse of mountain because of clouds. We drove through Moshi to Marangu. Moshi is a beautiful town, that reminded me of hill-stations in Central India. Lush green, red soil, and somewhat tropical vegetation. There were tons of gulmohar trees blooming with red flowers. They called its bloom "Christmas bloom". I was also amazed to see so many ant/termite hills all over the town, especially along the road. These hills are spread all over northern Tanzania - in towns and in National Parks.

The shop at Marangu gate was a rip-off. $15 for head-torch/battery, $5 for batteries, $20 for water-proof cover for my backpack. It was a good decision to get water-proof cover because it rained/snow every single day of my climb. I packed 4.5 litres of water for 2 days. From 3rd day onwards, I was supposed to take treated spring water en-route.

After spending an hour in finishing the paperwork, we started around 12:30. Foothills of Kili is rain-forest with very thick vegetation. Every tree branch had thick foil of moss/other plans growing on it. It started raining right away (it typically rains everyday in this part of Kili). Canopy was so thick that it sheltered us from torrential rain.

We kept a pretty good pace. 8.4 Kms/1000 mts ascent in three hours. It was a steady climb for most part. We crossed a couple of groups on our way. My shoulder hurt from carrying heavy backpack (thanks to my heavy camera gear! and 4.5 litres of water). Barbara, who was in her 50s had trouble climbing. But considering her age, she did remarkably well.

We reached Mandara Hut (camp) @3:30 pm. Hut were small, woden and cold. There were 4 bunker beds with mattress and pillow.

We were served warm water in a bowl to clean up, followed by pop-corns and tea/coffee. This was a regular routine we followed everyday of our climb (upon reaching the camp).

There were 6 groups including us. Some of them had come down from summit and were telling their tales. Dinner was really good - Leek soup was delicious, boiled potatoes and veggies. I got a bit uncomfortable when the ladies hung their underwears to dry in the hut .. and they were amused at my embarrassment 😊

Barbara distributed candies for christmas to everyone in dining room. She became a quick hit there. I went to bed early - around 9, and had a good sleep, although I could hear monkeys all night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb