Day in Transit - Landing in Kilimanjaro/Arusha


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
December 23rd 2009
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Mount Meru during sunriseMount Meru during sunriseMount Meru during sunrise

Beautiful sunrise from my sunrise
This was a transit day - not much was accomplished. I slept well in Addis despite hearing some dogs barking and donkeys braying 😊 At the airport, I was able to convince the customer-reps to push the date of my return by a day because I lost a day due to layover. The lady at customer-service was very helpful - I am just lucky to meet such people everytime.

My flight to Kilimanjaro Int. Airport got late by three hours once again due to complete ineptitude of airline staff. I finally arrived at 5 pm. Mt. Kilimanjaro and Mt Meru looked beautiful from the plane. By the time I got out of the plane, everything was covered in clouds. But the view from plane was gorgeous .. barring the 2 mountains (Mt Meru and Mt Kilimanjaro) the landscape was an unending vast plain of grassland dotted with a few trees. It was all green, thanks to rains.

I was a bit worried about my schedule too. Wasnt sure how my tourguide (John) will sticth another itenary for me, now that my Kililmanjaro group had already left. I met John - he was very freindly person. We drove to Arusha - about 50 kms from airport

I stayed at Hotel Fort Des Moines near Arusha town center. My new itenary was charted out. I would start my climb the next morning with a personal/private guide. John said I could finish my climb in 5 days - but I was reluctant. Didnt want to screw up my attempt by being ambitous. So we agreed on 6 day climb, and then I would head out to Lake Manyara/Serengeti/Ngrongoro on 30th.

I also met my guide that night - Ambrose. Young guy in late 20s, half drunk (i could smell alcohol) who spoke very less. Skeptical of what was in store for next day, I slept early. Siince I had decided on not taking malaria medicines, I covered myself fully while sleeping under mosquito net.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb