Tyson: As Kilimanjaro rises like Olympus...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
December 15th 2012
Published: December 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So we made it to Moshi, Tanzania after an 8 hour bus trip from Nairobi. The trip allowed us to see some interesting vistas and experience more of the local flavor. While travelling, the bus was stopped by herds of goats and cows which definitely confirmed a few Hollywood stereotypes. We also got to experience the Kenya-Tanzania border crossing which was less exciting than I had hoped. They barely glanced at my passport or half-filled out visa application form, took my money, stamped my passport and sent me on my way. I had so many witty responses prepared...

When we first arrived in Moshi, Kili was a little shy and hidden behind some clouds (apparently a common occurrence). But as we were returning from town after exchanging currencies, Kilimanjaro decided to unveil herself (himself???) and we got to see the summit where we'll be in 6 days. Speaking of currencies, if ever you wanted to feel good about your financial situation, ask your bank to use Tanzanian Shillings.

We were also introduced to our guide - 'Living'. That's about the best name for someone leading you to the summit of a mountain short of 'I'll carry you on my back'. We went through our gear list with the guide and it became apparent that we may have gone a little over-board on the winter clothes. We'll find out in 6 days if our over-cautiousness was warranted.

I can't imagine there being too much Wi-Fi on the mountain, so this will most likely be the last entry for a week. Stay tuned for who makes it (most likely Anne) and who cries and goes home (Tyson).

Advertisement



16th December 2012

Top of the world!
Good luck to the two of you! Be safe! You can do it! The dogs are missing you both!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb