the equator isn't that hot!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
July 1st 2006
Published: July 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm shocked to find out that... life around the equator is not even close to as hot as I expected. I am currently a bit south of the equator, near the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania. It has been rainy today, and quite chilly. I've been wearing a sweatshirt all day and it hasn't been warm enough. I'm surprised about this part of Africa!

Otherwise, everything has gone well so far. Traveling to Nairboi, Kenya was a breeze. Although I was worried about being bored on the flight, I watched 3 movies and read a book, so I was ok. After staying the night in Nairobi, our group (16 college-aged students frm around the US) took a bus across the border to Tanzania, and ended in Moshi. Moshi is a popular place for backpackers to stay the night before they leave for Mt. Kilimanjaro, so there are other wazungus (white people) around. Moshi is bigger than I expected, but is by no means a big city.

Kilimanjaro looks huge from what I can tell so far, but since it's been cloudy it's impossible to be certain how bit it really is! I'm excited for a clear day.

Today has been spent meeting with representatives from KNCU, the oldest and largest fair trade coffee cooperative in Africa. I got sick this morning (which we all know is a big deal for me as I NEVER throw up) but I feel much better now. We toured Moshi a little bit, and have been enjoying getting to know each other in the group a little more.

I haven't seen any super exciting animals yet - an ostrich on the way out, and the rest of the group saw a zebra, but I missed it - but I'll be sure to let you all know when I do!

Hope you are well!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb