Kilimanjaro- Preparing for the Climb!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
February 21st 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The PreparationThe PreparationThe Preparation

The view from the YMCA
After my not so safe experience with the 1st tour company for a 2 day Safari, I decided I definitely didn't want to go up the mountain with them for 5 days. So I went to the company I originally planned to go up with and we sat down the morning I was supposed to climb and to plan my trip up. I was hoping that I could be added to a group that was already going up to save money, but they didn't have any others. I explained to the owner, who I call 'Big brother' that he had to send me up with safety as a priority. That was no problem for him so called up a guide with 6 years of experience as a guide and 2 porters and a cook.

The basics that you need to pack for 1 person each the following: 1 Pack including (sleeping bag, boots, heavy coat, goggles or sunshades, heavy gloves, water and wind resistant pants, several pair of heavy socks (gotta avoid the blisters), a skull cap that exposes only your eyes to decrease windburn, rain gear or umbrella, walkig stick or retractable ski poles(I chose a walking stick- it has more character), shoe and lower pants covers for the dust/mud/snow, flashlight or headlight, long-johns and water-wicking top to keep your core warm, a camera, music if you like and lots of extra batteries (the last thing you want if to have your batteries freeze or your camera run out right when you reach the summit!), meds- something for nausea/diarrhea, Tylenol for pain/fever, and Diamox if you ahve already started it one day prior to the clim it might help with altitude sickness. (I took it, esp. because I'm coming from a city that below sea level! LOL)

The tour company will provide, transportation to and from the base of the park entrance/base of mountain, 1 certified guide, 2 porters per person, (1 for carrying your things and the other for your food and cooking equip.), the food, (3 meals, water and tea or a snack daily) you can also rent equipment for your pack if you don't have everything.

So after, paying half of the fee and getting last minute errands done we heading to the park entrance to do the Marangu route.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb