The End of the First Week draws near...


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I am learning the meaning of 'Pole Pole' the hard way. It means 'slowly slowly' and is a mantra for African living. Things just happen here on a different time scale with different priorities.
Today we had some time to kill after we had eaten lunch and before we had to go to our afternoon projects so we decided to get a coffee, which we ordered at 1pm. By 1.40 we thought we better ask if it was coming because we had to go at 2pm... 'yes yes it is coming - pole pole'. Phew, it's a far cry from London where everything has to happen now if not yesterday. Techonology is also something that takes its time - text messages often choose not to send, hot water decides to take a short break as does the power from time to time. Tuesday the power was out from about 4pm till 11pm. Eating dinner by candlelight may be very romantic but there isn't much else you can do in the dark so everyone went to bed at about 8pm. The power went out last night too but only for about 30mins - just long enough for another romantic dinner shared between 20 people.

The house will empty out tonight as people head off on safaris and weekend trips to Zanzibar but there are a few of us that are staying around the area. Tomorrow we are planning a day trip to the foothills of Kili to see some traditional villages and some waterfalls that are supposed to be pretty impressive.... if very cold. Not sure about Sunday at this stage - if the weather is good then we might go to one of the hotels in town and use the swimming pool. I also want to spent some time on Sunday working on my lesson plans for my classes as I've been having to work on them before dinner and during lunch which I know is not the best use of my time!



Advertisement



27th June 2008

this is awesome!
hi juliet- keep the great posts coming- I can really picture you doing all of these things! I am so pleased that you arrived safely and things are going well. I would def have a hard time slowing down to their way of life... and I live in Montana! Best of luck on your lesson planning! I'm sure those women just adore you! with love nikki

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb