A Very Tanzaniarian Christmas


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 25th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The 25th of June is now a dedicated day of celebration for all Art in Tanzania volunteers.

Yesterday was just one of those days for everyone. The torrential rain (yes, we all thought we were going in dry season) of Tuesday had stopped and the rivers of mud were drying, the sun was out.... and so was Mt Kilimajaro - which was an amazing sight - so close but so mysterious and imposing too - I can see why a trek to the top can take 7 days. My projects are going really well, Wes & Ciara were told that there bags were found, we got hot water finally, and the Head Honcho from I-to-I UK was over for a visit so he put on a BBQ and Beer. Now that's a good day.

I'm now on day 4 of my projects - The morning group are a real mix - ages 10 - 70. Their english is pretty basic so I'm having fun with vocab, numbers, greetings etc - It's a bit of a walk to get there, it takes about an hour. The number in the class varies day to day as some people are sick, at the hospital or just MIA. It's quite hard to plan for but I figure that I'll teach to those who are there and if people want to catch up they can - either through me or their classmates. Boon is helping me out with this class as he isn't needed in the mornings on his project.

My afternoon class is a group of 8 ladies, ranging from about 30 to 60. They are very quick, very funny and so keen to learn. They run a variety of businesses from sewing to baking and they were very chuffed yesterday when I asked them to teach me some swahili!

Tataonana Kesho.

See you tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb