Seminars and Campaigns!!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
June 18th 2008
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sorry it has been a while since I have written a travel blog. On Monday morning, June 9th, the Richardson's and I along with the girls from Mississippi drove to Arusha to stay for the last 2 weeks of our trip. It is more difficult to get internet here, than it was when I was living at the Richardson's house. I will try to send out one more blog after this one, but no promises!

The first week was the woman's, men's and children's seminars. The mornings started off with the men's seminar at the ACSOP and women's seminar at the Arusha Church of Christ. The seminars went all day, we were supposed to end at 3pm but being women we always ran a little over time. The children's seminar was from 4-6 and let me say that 2 hours with African kids is a very long 2 hours! On the last day of the Children’s seminar we had a total of 510 kids, a new record!! I wish that you all could have been there that day. All the African women had sticks and trust me, they were using them!! At the end of the day Carolyn, one of our translators, caught a kid stealing crayons. She made him do 20 push-ups and then hop like a frog out of the church building as punishment. Haha I love Africa!!!

This Tuesday we started the Arusha campaign along with the Mto Wa Mbu campaign. Since I have been to the Arusha campaign the past 3 years have been going to Mto Wa Mbu with the Browns, Hochdorfs and some of the campaigners to do the campaign there. Both the campaigns are going on at the same time so they slit us up into 2 groups. One group will stays here in Arusha while the other drives to Mto Wa Mbu and back every day.

The campaign in Mto Wa Mbu has been going extremely well. We have to leave the building here by 7:30 every morning because it takes about and hour and a half to get there. We have tea and bread for breakfast there at the church building in Mto Wa Mbu. Then all the teams split up to go out and do the door to door evangelism, while Shasta, Penny, Anita and I stay behind at the building for the children's VBS. After VBS we pick up all the groups and come back to the building for lunch. Beans and rice of course!!! After we are all done eating it is time for the out door preaching at 3 o'clock. When the preaching is over we all pile back in the vehicles and trust me we PILE in them very tight! But we all love each other so it all works out haha.

This week is flying by just as fast as the first week did! I cannot believe that my trip here is almost over I will be leaving on Monday, June 23rd! I have had an amazing time and I think God everyday for allowing me to be here in Africa serving Him!


In Christian Love,
Callie


P.S. Sorry there are no pictures. All of my pictures are on Julie's laptop and it is really hard to get on and use it because she needs it to post her own blogs!


Advertisement



26th June 2008

Hurry Home
Hey girl..I'm glad you are having so much fun over there but I need a baby sitter Sept 16-22 so I can go to a conference in San Diego. Are you interested? Have fun. Billy

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb