Day three in Africa - Annsley


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
May 22nd 2008
Published: May 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hutujambo!
Today is day three in Africa. Beautiful. That is about all I can say for this country. The backdrop of the setting of our hotel is unimaginable. Unfortunately, yesterday was the first day we were actually able to see the ice cap on top of Mt. Kilimanjaro, but even the bottom of the mountain alongside the rice patties does enough justice. The children are also beautiful. The first day here, we went to the old school to meet the children and have them walk us over to the new school. We were greeted by about 100 kids in North Shore sports t-shirts singing us songs and in 5 minutes all of us had at least 2 children attached at our hip holding our hands. We handed out uniforms the day before yesterday, and so when we arrived at the new school yesterday we were greeted by 100 plus children in little teal and brown uniforms to replace their NS shirts. They were so careful not to get them dirty, and with even the tiniest bit of mud on their brown pants or skirt, you could tell how upset they got. It really made me think about how appreciative they truly are and how much I can learn from them. My first teaching experience was on our first day. We were just wandering around the three or so rooms of the school, looking at the classrooms when I walked into a classroom full of seated children in desks, awaiting a lesson. There was no teacher around, and no one had asked them to sit quietly. When I walked in they perked up and waited for me to start teaching. Completely by myself and without any clue what to do, I began quizzing them on numbers and the alphabet. They were much smarter than I could have imagined, and probably smarter in a second language than most 5 and 6 year olds in America. It was intimidating teaching these kids, or reviewing with them what they already knew, but I was also surprised at how I actually had the ability to teach and i didn't know it. At the opening ceremony yesterday, all of us girls bought Congas, or traditional sarongs women wear, to look more appropriate and traditional. All the mothers arrived and sat down, completely decked out in traditional garb, including the colorful baby carriers attached around their backs. The teachers and some helpers had decorated the school with balloons, and home-made gift bows that looked just like the store bought ones. They took so much pride in the ceremonial opening of the school that it really did touch us all and got me especially excited to continue our work there. I cant wait to see what the rest of the trip brings us!
Tuttona a Badaaye! (see you later!)
~Annsley McKinney

Advertisement



22nd May 2008

the gift of teaching
Annsley, I enjoyed reading your entry for the third day. I especially enjoyed how much you loved teaching the children....great feeling! Some people take naturally to teaching....don't overlook it as a possible future path. Each day of my 36 year teaching career was a pleasure and a challenge! I continue to miss it. And, I am so very envious of your experience in Moshi. Looking forward to your next entry. Patty
22nd May 2008

Good Works
Glad to hear that you all are doing well...love hearing about your adventures. Even though you all are there for them...they will inpact you far more...

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb