First thoughts


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
May 19th 2008
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sometimes it's the little things that really matter.

We went to the kids' old school today and walked with them to the new one. The roads are incredibly mudy and slippery, and of course by the time we arrived at the new school the majority of us were incredibly mud-splattered. My shoes were mudy, of course, but somehow my bag was muddy too, but I was going to clean it off when we got back to the hotel. One of the little schoolgirls I was with, however, saw my muddy shoes and then bent down to try and clean them off for me. Her own shoes were muddy, yet she still wanted to help me clean mine. Then she saw that my bag was muddy, so she took the end of her skirt to try and wipe the mud of my bag. I couldn't believe it, I was incredibly touched by this gesture and I think this is one of those things that will stay with you forever - the goodness' of a little girl's heart.

- Amanda

Advertisement



19th May 2008

Envious.....and so very proud of you guys!
Have just returned to Wyoming and picked up the blogs thus far.....thank you for your news of the children, school and surroundings....for this year, I will have to live through your messages from Moshi......so sorry to not be with you. As I read about you starting some lessons....I am remembering the beautiful books you made in Nov. Have the time of your lives! Warmest Regards, Patty

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb