Kilimanjaro's Machame Route


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
September 27th 1998
Published: July 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Climbing the tallest mountain in Africa is no piece of cake, but it has been done by thousands if not millions of people. In my review on the Marangu Route, I did mention that it is not a climb that should be attempted without a guide. This review is about the toughest and most difficult route to Uhuru peak (the summit of Kilimanjaro). Mountain Kilimanjaro towers over 19,300 feet above sea level (19,340 to be exact), making it the tallest free standing mountain in the world. By the time I attempted climbing to Uhuru peak using the Machame Route, I had climbed the Marangu 4 times. The Machame route has incredible scenery, with amazing backdrops the higher in altitude one gets. The different vegetation is what makes it the most scenic of the two popular routes: Marangu and Machame.

Recommended months are January, February, August, September.

Here is what your itinerary will look like at a glance:8 days climb

Day 1: Machame gate to Machame camp (7 hours hiking)

Day 2: Machame Camp to Shira Camp (6 hours hiking)

Day 3: Shira camp to Barranco Camp (6 hours hiking) Steep walls here

Day 4: Barranco Camp to Karanga Camp (5 hours hiking). The karanga river is awesome here.

Day 5: Karanga Camp to Barafu Camp (3-4 hours hiking) No vegetation here, acclimatization here.

Day 6: Barafu Camp to Uhuru Peak (10-14 hours).

Day 7: Uhuru peak down to Mweka Gate (4-5 hours)

The hike from Barafu to Uhuru peak is grueling: this is why this becomes the toughest route. Everything in you feels the distance, height, cold, and everything that goes with being at 19000 feet. This day begins at midnight so you will need headlights. Switchbacks and loose gravel is most of what you will feel for the fast few hours, you need your balance here like never before. The glaciers are a sight to see when the sun hits them early morning. I recall my face burning and my heart feeling frozen. The burning breath making me feel like this is the end. My water bottle froze up there and I could feel my throat dry. Our senior hiker Hector decided to urge me on by leading on, long day ahead, but we finally make it (Summit day, yeeeees!) Exhilarating feeling. Having a good guide to pace you will always save time and help with the acclimatization process.

Climbing skill level: This is an advanced skill climbing.

I mentioned in the Marangu review that there was no climbing skill require however it is imperative to be in good health. For Machame it is a must that you be in good shape, some rock climbing experiences will be of advantage and night hiking experiences will definitely make the last day's climb to the peak bearable. I know this after braving it in a manner that could have killed me in spite of my previous experience. Please do take time to train in higher altitude before you attempt this route. The Shira area is mostly rock. I did this in my younger years so my stamina was good and I, was in great physical shape

Required Documents:

1.Valid Passport and Visa (Visas can be got on arrival at the airport

2.Travel Insurance/ Medical Insurance

3.Return Airline Ticket to country of origination

4.International Health Card for Yellow Fever

Required Vaccinations:

Now, normally when you are leaving the United States to go to Africa, it is recommended you get a bunch of shots/ Vaccinations including Polio, Tetanus, Hepatitis A & B, Yellow Fever and Meningitis. Now I will tell you right now, these shots or vaccination are not cheap, minimum $250 - $300. You do not need all of them but Yellow Fever is a must otherwise you will not be let on the mountain. If you will be touring else where after climbing the mountain and staying more than 2 weeks then I recommend you get the shots.

Required Climbing gear (can also be rented):

1.Thermal Water Flask

2.Waterproof and windproof jacked (outer wear like Ventes, Jeantex etc)

3.Gloves liners (I advise you carry one anyway)

4.Polar fleece (it gets extremely cold up there

5.Mittens, very warm gloves (I can't stress it enough)

6.Thermal socks

7.Great hiking boots/ shoes

8.Gaiters

9.Poncho/ Rain coat

(These may have been updated, but these are base on what I, used.) Noteworthy is the fact that this is a very expensive trip anyway you look at it (unless money is not your problem). I used Naturediscovery.com, they are highly recommended. Volcanoessafaris.com comes second in recommendation, also a great company to use, they are a little on the expensive side and specialize in Mountain Gorilla and primate tracking, but I personally know the owner and general manager, I could not entrust you in better hands for any safari or adventure in East Africa.

Do NOT forget to carry your camera, video recorder, binoculars etc, the view going up and coming down are to die for. This is an adventure of a life time, you want to remember it.

NOTE: Please do not forget to tip the porters (great people the Chagga), they do not get paid enough for what they do carry up and down this great mountain your luggage that you verily need to stay alive.

Enjoy reading and leave me a comment below with your thoughts.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb