Heading back to America


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 16th 2010
Published: June 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A few days before we left, it was discovered that a girl in our group, Callan (my first teaching partner) had chawa. What is chawa you might ask? Chawa is their version of lice! However, unlike lice, chawa like dirty hair. Chawa is easy enough to get rid of- lots of shampoo and picking out the eggs. Frantically, our entire group was searched for chawa, and of course the only other girl that had it was Kaitlin! The girl I've been sharing a bed with for the past two months! I think this was actually really good timing though. The last few days, Kaitlin and I spent a lot more time at home (me picking chawa out of her hair) with the family. It was nice to have a longer period to start saying goodbye. We walked to site to say goodbye to the kids and other volunteers and guess what? The kids from site were just getting out of school coincidentally as we were walking by, so Kaitlin and I got to help walk them home! We had a mini photoshoot 😊

Overall, I'll definitely miss Africa, especially the people. They are so warm and caring. This was a life-changing experience that I will cherish always.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.032s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb